LibGuides: United States Government Documents: The Presidency, Congress, the Courts, &amp; Agency Regulations: US Budget

US Budget and Appropriations Data

Budget of the United States, 1996 to present.
Issued by the Office of Management and Budget (OMB), the Budget of the United States Government is a collection of documents that contains the budget message of the President, information about the President's budget proposals for a given fiscal year, and other budgetary publications that have been issued throughout the fiscal year. Other budget items, such as related publications and supporting materials, are included, which may vary from year to year.
1963 - 1990, PDFs from FRASER (Federal Reserve Archive)
1936 -. Print volumes: Latest issue in Olin Reference, Earlier issues, back to 1936, in Olin Stacks, HJ2051 .A59 + .
more...less...
According to the Budget and Accounting Act of 1921, the president must annually submit a budget to Congress by the first Monday in February. The proposed spending plan, the president's budget must show:
-- The condition of the Treasury at the end of the last completed fiscal year.
-- The estimated condition of the Treasury at the end of the current fiscal year.
-- The estimated condition of the Treasury at the end of the next fiscal year if the budget proposals are carried out.
The Office of Management and Budget (OMB) assists the president in the creation of the president's budget by gathering data from agencies and compiling it into the final plan to be approved by the president.
The totals for the current and upcoming fiscal years are only projected amounts. Annual budget documents provide Congress, State and local governments, and the public with a complete description of the president's budget plans for the coming fiscal year. Other related and supporting budget publications, such as the Economic Report of the President, are included, which may vary from year to year. [GPO Access description]
Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance
Provides a full listing of all Federal programs available to State and local governments (including the District of Columbia); federally-recognized Indian tribal governments; Territories (and possessions) of the United States; domestic public, quasi- public, and private profit and nonprofit organizations and institutions; specialized groups; and individuals.
USA Spending.gov
Created to comply with the Federal Funding Accountability and Transparency Act of 2006 (Transparency Act), this website was designed to provide access to government contract, grant and other award data. Unfortunately, a recent GAO report has identified significant gaps in the grants and assistance data. For a quick overview, see Washington Post article and this blog post from the Sunlight Foundation.
NPP (National Priorities Project) Federal Priorities Project
Drawn from USAspending.gov (but note the GAO report above identifying gaps and inconsistencies),
Includes local spending data of federal government funds for a variety of federal programs – from food and housing to military and healthcare, by state, county, and city.
Corresponding social indicators – such as health insurance coverage, poverty rates, and school district stats – that illustrate the impact of those dollars.
Also includes federal spending on education at the state and school district level.
Federal Spending in the States (Pew Charitable Trust)
Attempting to avoid some of the data inconsistencies in USASpending.gov, this initiative draws from both USASpending and the BEA's, State Personal Income and Employment Report, to provide state-level data reflecting the dollar value of federal spending relative to the size of each state’s GDP.
See the download section in the upper right to download the latest report, the methodology used, and an excel file for the latest state-by-state data (currently, 2013). A spreadsheet of the 10-year data is also available by request.

House Ways and Means, "Green Book". Background Material and Data on Major Programs within the Jurisdiction of the Committee on Ways:

1994 - current. House Ways and Means, "Green Book". Background Material and Data on Major Programs within the Jurisdiction of the Committee on Ways and Means. (Publicly available website)
Provides program descriptions and historical data on a wide variety of social and economic topics, Includes Social Security, employment, earnings, welfare, child support, health insurance, the elderly, families with children, poverty and taxation. A standard reference work for those interested in the direction of social policy in the United States.
1984 - 2004. Proquest Congressional (Cornell, only)
Search title: "Background Material And Data On Programs Within The Jurisdiction Of The Committee On Ways And Means"
1981-2000; 2004. Print edition. Call number: HC 110.P63 B12
Background material and data on major programs within the jurisdiction of the Committee on Ways and Means