LibGuides: United States Government Documents: The Presidency, Congress, the Courts, &amp; Agency Regulations: Presidents' Public Papers

Presidents' Public Papers : Overview

Online sources ~ Print sources

Public messages, speeches, and statements of the President.

The Presidency: Public Papers, speeches, etc. : Online sources

Hein Online: the modern link to legal history -- U.S. Presidential Library
This collection includes:
-- Compilation of the Messages and Papers of the Presidents, 1789 - 1929,
-- Public Papers of the Presidents, 1929 - the current volume,
-- CFR Title 3 (compilation of Presidential documents and a codification of regulations issued by the Executive Office of the President.)
-- Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents, 1965 - 2009 (became Daily Compilation...in 2009)
and more.
The American Presidency Project
From UC Santa Barbara. Includes many Presidential documents and additional sources, such as...
-- Presidential Debates
-- Audio/Video archive
-- Party Platforms back to 1844
-- State of the Union Addresses and Messages
-- Presidential Signing Statements, and much more.
The site also includes data on topics related to the presidency. See: the Data section for more information.
Compilation of Presidential Documents
1992 - current.
Use the advanced search to search across all years.
American President: A Reference
Notable on this site is the Presidential Recordings Project of secret White House recordings, from President Franklin Roosevelt through President Richard Nixon. The site also offers a complete record of Presidential speeches, with audio beginning with Roosevelt's Address to Congress on Yalta, in 1945.
more...less...
Presidential Recordings Program<"Between 1940 and 1973, six American presidents from both political parties secretly recorded just under 5,000 hours of their meetings and telephone conversations.

Through a combination of historical research and annotated transcripts the Miller Center's Presidential Recordings Program aims to make these remarkable historical sources more accessible to scholars, teachers, students, and the public."
Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States
Beginning with the 41st President, George H.W. Bush, available online from the GPO. See below for print volumes, back to 1929.
End of Term Web Archive
The End of Term Web Archive captures and saves U.S. Government websites at the end of presidential administrations. Beginning in 2008, the EOT has thus far preserved websites from administration changes in 2008 and 2012, and is currently preparing for the 2016 electoral season.
The End of Term Web Archive contains federal government websites (.gov, .mil, etc) in the Legislative, Executive, or Judicial branches of the government. Websites that were at risk of changing (i.e., whitehouse.gov) or disappearing altogether during government transitions were captured. Local or state government websites, or any other site not part of the federal government domain were out of scope.