LibGuides: United States Government Documents: The Presidency, Congress, the Courts, &amp; Agency Regulations: Statutes at Large (Stat.) and United States Code (U.S.C.)

Statutes at Large and United States Code : Overview

Public laws are initially published as "Slip Laws" and later published in United States Statutes at Large, the permanent collection of all laws and resolutions enacted during each session of Congress. The Statutes at Large is prepared and published by the Office of the Federal Register (OFR), National Archives and Records Administration (NARA).

Statutes at Large publishes "session laws" (in chronological order, by session of Congress)

Sample citation: 107 Stat. 77-89 (law appears in volume 107 in the Statutes at Large (Stat.), on pages 77-89.)

The United States Code is a consolidation and codification by subject matter of the general and permanent laws of the United States.

Sample citation: 2 USC. Sec 431. 2010.

Statutes at Large : Online Sources

Hein Online
Includes complete coverage of the Statutes at Large, and features multiple browsing and searching options to enhance the online value over the paper volumes.
From the landing page, scroll down to find the U.S. Statutes at Large
Statutes at Large, 1789-1875
1789 - 1875 From the Library of Congress, American Memory Project.
Fedsys - Federal Digital System
1951 -- (latest published volume):
Authenticated government documents from the Government Printing Office.

Statutes at Large : Print / Microform holdings

1937 - 2011

Location: Olin Oversize K .U545 +

United States Code : Online Sources

U.S. House of Representatives, Office of the Law Revision Counsel
Current edition, only.
LexisNexis Academic
Current editions. Updated as received
Search by Subject or Topic --> Legal -- Federal Statutes and Regulations.
Go to the Advanced Options
Select Annotated U.S. Code (USCS).*
*The USCS is the only U.S. Code set based on the Statutes at Large, which the courts have consistently ruled to be the controlling language when it differs from the codified statutes in the U.S. Code.
Hein Online
1925/26 -- current
From the landing page, scroll down through the the menu to find U.S. Code
This collection includes complete coverage of the United States Code dating back to inception in 1925-1926.
Also includes the Early Federal Laws Collection, which represents the most complete collection of federal statute compilations prior to the US Code.

United States Code : Print holdings

Library has:

1940-1994 ed.
2000 ed.:v.1-35
2006 ed.:v.1-36
2012 ed.:v.1-41*

*Latest edition in Reference

Call number: KF62 .A2 +

United States Government Documents: The Presidency, Congress, the Courts, & Agency Regulations: Statutes at Large (Stat.) and United States Code (U.S.C.)