Combine keywords and phrases:
- start with just a few broad key terms, connecting terms with AND.
- add terms to narrow your search
- enclose phrases in quotation marks, e.g. "climate change"
- include alternative terms in parentheses connected with OR, e.g. (policy OR legislation OR regulation)
- truncate terms with an asterisk to find variant endings, e.g., (Note: Don't truncate after just a few letters -- you will find too many unrelated terms.)
- Note: Most databases will find plurals without the need for truncation.).
sweden AND finland AND pension
hungary AND "social policy"
norway AND "housing policy"
"social insurance" AND
"social protection" AND
Search tip: try different terms and phrases, welfare, "social policy" , "entitlements" (maybe)
- Worldwide Political Science AbstractsCovers political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, public administration, and public policy.
Note: for best results, select the Advanced Search.
- International Bibliography of the Social SciencesIdentifies journal articles and books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951. It is unique in its broad coverage of international material and incorporates over 100 languages and countries.
- International Political Science AbstractsProduced by the International Political Science Association, indexes and summarizes articles from periodicals published throughout the world. Includes articles in English are abstracted in English; those in other languages are abstracted in French, with all titles translated into English. Coverage from 1989 - present
- Black Studies CenterSecondary and primary sources. Focus is African Americans. Includes Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, Index to Black Periodicals Full Text, Black Literature Index, the HistoryMakers, and the Chicago Defender.
- Environment IndexCovering environmental policy and studies.
- GenderWatchFocuses on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas .... including family, childbirth, birth control, daycare, domestic abuse, work and the workplace, sexual harassment, aging, aging parents, body image, eating disorders and social and societal roles.
- Women's Studies InternationalProvides citations and some abstracts to the core areas of Women’s studies. Covers journals, newspapers, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, proceedings, reports, theses, dissertations, NGO studies, websites and grey literature. annually.
- America: History and LifeIdentifies articles, essays, books chapters and monographs on the history of the United States and Canada. Strong coverage of US government, policy, and foreign relations topics.
Note: In the Advanced Search, scroll down to limit your search to a historical period.
- Historical AbstractsIdentifies articles, essays, books chapters and monographs on history worldwide (except the US and Canada. See above). Strong coverage of political history, from pre-history to the present.
Note: Use the Advanced Search to search by historical period (era).
Area Studies Databases
- Africa-wide: NiPadAfrica-wide NiPAD is an index covering material on Africa from the 19th century to the present.
- Bibliography of Asian Studies -- BASIdentifies principally western-language articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia published since 1971
- HAPI Online: Hispanic American Periodicals IndexCovers Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region and Hispanics in the United States.
- Middle East and Africa Database"... a bibliographic and fulltext database that provides area coverage (especially for political development, social development, foreign policy, economic development, investment, oil and petrochemicals, trade and technological industries) for the Middle East, North Africa, the Sahel and the Horn of Africa, Sub-Saharan Africa, and Arabs, Iranians, Turks and Africans worldwide, including in Europe and North and South America."
- Middle Eastern and Central Asian StudiesCovers research, policy and scholarly discourse on the countries and peoples of the Middle East, Central Asia and North Africa.