Reading in Bed

Hamblin glasses. A pair of spectacles especially designed for reading in bed. England, 1936. Dutch Nationaal Archief. Source: Flickr Commons

Hamblin glasses. A pair of spectacles especially designed for reading in bed. England, 1936. Dutch Nationaal Archief. Source: Flickr Commons

Don't pay for stuff!

wallet with $20 bills sticking out

Never pay for an article or book or access to resources.

In most cases (except for textbooks), the Cornell Library has online journals, newspapers, magazines, ebooks and print books, or can get them for you at no charge to you! 

Passkey can help you find it at Cornell, or Ask a Librarian.

Specialized databases

Articles: Select and search appropriate databases to discover useful articles

Two strategies:
1) Cast a broad net—search a number of article citation sources all at once

Cornell University Library homepage search box with "Articles & Full Text" search highlighted

OK, but there's a more efficient way...

Article Databases & Indexes

Or THE PREFERRED METHOD
2) Be more focused by searching individual databases

Cornell Library home page search box with Databases search highlighted

Periodical indexes (in databases) identify and locate the articles published in magazines, journals and newspapers. Many databases also index essays, book chapters and monographs.

Some—but not all—databases provide full-text articles.

If the database does not provide full-text, but does give you a citation, click on the Get it! Cornell link to see if there is full text access through another database. If that doesn't work, take down the full article ciation. Then, go back to the catalog and search for the title of the journal the article appears in. The catalog will indicate which issues of the journal Cornell holds in both print and electronic forms. The full text of the article may be available through a different database.

For more precise searching, search databases individually

Browse the list of specialized indexes in the Art and Architecture or History: Primary Sources sections of the Databases search.