Visual Resources Librarian

Marsha Taichman's picture
Marsha Taichman
Contact:
Fine Arts Library
306 Rand Hall
Cornell University
Ithaca, NY 14853
(607) 255-6718
met228@cornell.edu
Website
Subjects:Art

ARTstor

ARTstor logo

The ARTstor Digital Library

Help in using ARTstor

You can only download if you register for an account, which you'll need to do on campus. After you have an account, you can login from anywhere. Watch the video on the right for complete instructions.

 

AP Images

AP Images logo

An electronic library containing the AP's current photos from their 50 million image print and negative library, as well as charts, graphs, tables, and maps from the AP's graphics portfolio.

Johnson Museum Online

Johnson Museum of Art, Cornell University, collections page

Databases & Collections

The library subscribes to or has built a number of image databases that are excellent sources of downloadable images. Keep in mind that some of them have licensing restrictions that prohibit the re-publication (including open web publishing, such as on a blog or on social networking sites) of images you download. There are also quite a few digital collections that are free and open on the web. Use the links and information on this page to get more information about how best to use ARTstor and other image databases.

Get help with digital images

Cornell University Library home page search box with Images search highlightedCornell University Library Visual Resources page

Photo Databases

NCCO home page Nineteenth Century Collections Online :
Photography, the World Through the Lens

a broad range of primary sources including a variety of material types.
Assembles collections of photographs, photograph albums, photographically illustrated books and texts on the early history of photography from libraries and archives from across the globe.

Images of the Civil War homepageImages of the American Civil War : Photographs, posters, and ephemera
Thousands of dramatic images from the fields of battle, the home front, politics, and general society allow students and researchers to experience and bear witness to the events, both monumental and mundane, of the war that tested and defined the core meaning of America. The database currently holds over 12,200 images.

Fashion Photography archive homepageFashion Photography Archive
Contains more than 750,000 newly-digitzed and high-quality runway, backstage, and street style images*
— curated by Editor-in-Chief Valerie Steele, Director of the Museum at FIT in New York

RIBA Pix logoRIBAPix
Exceptional and unique images from the collections of the British Architectural Library at the Royal Institute of British Architects, the world's most extensive visual archive devoted to architecture. RIBApix covers world architecture of all periods together with related subjects such as interior design, landscape, topography, planning, construction and the decorative arts.

 SEAiT: South East Asian images & texts project logoSEAiT: South East Asian images & texts project
Digital archive of historical photography for Southeast Asia, drawing scattered historical photographs into a single accessible source. The archive incorporates elements from a broad spectrum of social sciences, including history, geography, anthropology and political science.

Image: Media History Digital Library logoMedia History Digital Library (not really a photo database like the others listed here)
Contains digital scans of media periodicals and fan magazines from 1904 to 1963. Also features the histories of film, broadcasting, and recorded sound. Highlights for historians of photography: the early cinema collection and the magic lantern and lantern slide catalog collection.

Register to download

This tutorial guides users through the process of registering for an ARTstor user account.

Exporting ARTstor images to PowerPoint

Using Image Groups in ARTstor