CAA Style Guidelines
The College Art Association has a series of guidelines (based on the Chicago Manual of Style) for image captions.
Fair Use of Images
Code of best practices in fair use for the visual arts by Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2015The Code of Best Practices in Fair Use was created with and for the visual arts community. Copyright protects...against unauthorized use by others, but it is subject to a number of exceptions designed to assure space for future creativity. Of these, fair use is the most important and the most flexible....
Guidance on citation styles
Cite sources: Chicago Style
- Chicago Manual of Style
- CMOS Shop Talk
Frequently asked questions about Chicago citation style. - The Purdue Online Writing Lab
Provides excellent examples (for footnotes/endnotes and bibliographies) on how to cite using the Chicago citation style: books, periodicals, web sources, film & television, and much more. - Examples for how to cite an image using the Chicago Style, from Simon Fraser University
The Chicago Manual of Style by Call Number: Olin Library Reference, Z253 .U69 2017 (at the Reference Desk)Publication Date: 2017
Cite Sources: MLA Citation Style
Cite sources accurately in order to use information ethically and responsibly
- MLA Style Center (MLA's web site)
Provides some FAQ's; however, this site does not provide the full style manual online. - Purdue's OWL (Online Writing Lab) MLA Formatting and Style Guide
MLA Handbook by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781603293525Publication Date: 2021-04-22Published by the Modern Language Association, the MLA Handbook is the only official, authorized book on MLA style. The new, ninth edition builds on the MLA's unique approach to documenting sources using a template of core elements--facts, common to most sources, like author, title, and publication date--that allows writers to cite any type of work, from books, e-books, and journal articles in databases to song lyrics, online images, social media posts, dissertations, and more...
Zotero
Manage Information using Citation Software/PDF organizers/Image managers
Use citation management/pdf organizing software to save time and energy organizing and citing research materials. Zotero was designed for humanities and social sciences research. Developed at The Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media at George Mason University, it is particularly suited for historical sources.
is a free, open source, web-based tool for managing citations, organizing pdfs,and creating bibliographies.
For advice choosing a citation manager or managing information, contact us for a consultation!
ZoteroBib
ZoteroBib is a free, quick, and easy bibliography and citation maker that saves time and trouble.
Add sources using the ZoteroBib search box. Then, copy and paste the complete bibliography (or footnotes or in-text citations) into your paper in the citation style of your choice. (Note: As great as ZoteroBib is, it isn't perfect. Check your citations carefully using citation style guides or ask a librarian.)
Light
![Onésipe Aguado de las Marismas.[Woman seen from the back]. ca. 1862. Salted paper print from glass negative](https://images.metmuseum.org/CRDImages/ph/web-large/DP150940.jpg)
Onésipe Aguado de las Marismas.[Woman seen from the back]. ca. 1862. Salted paper print from glass negative, 30.8 × 25.7 cm. Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York. www.metmuseum.org (accessed Nov. 8, 2017).
Cited Reference Searching
In addition to Google Scholar, a number of subscription databases allow you to track the flow of research by including ways to identify references that cite or are cited by other scholarly sources. This is a quick, although perhaps not comprehensive, way to gauge the impact of individual publications. Consult the Cited Reference Searching guide for detailed instructions in performing cited reference searches.
Tropy for Photo Management
Tropy is a free and open-source tool that allows you to organize and describe photographs of research materials. Like Zotero, it was developed at The Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media at George Mason University. If your plan is to take massive amounts of photos in the archives and need a way to view and organize them at home, this might be the tool for you
- Group your photos into documents
- Attach descriptive metadata, notes, or transcriptions to your photos
- Tag your photos however you want
- Search all of your information, notes, and tags
- Export your collections to JSON-LD or Omeka-S