HIST 2220: From the New Deal to the Reagan Revolution: Television

"Explains the major theoretical approaches and definitions now deployed in the study of screen media. Entries range from longer overview essays which summarise the central paradigms of film and television theory, to shorter definitions of key concepts and introductions to major influential figures." (jacket copy) Includes cross-references, bibliographies, and index.

4 vols. 2nd ed. "...includes more than 1,000 original essays from more than 250 contributors and examines specific programs and people, historic moments and trends, major policy disputes and such topics as violence, tabloid television and the quiz show scandal. It also includes histories of major television networks as well as broadcasting systems around the world and is complemented by resource materials, photos and bibliographical information." (publisher)

Covers the following areas in the context of TV, cable, and video: advertising, agencies, associations, companies, unions, broadcasting, cable-casting, engineering, events, general production and programming.

This book is an alphabetical examination of the nearly 200 shows telecast in the U.S. from 1948 through 2008 involving courtrooms, lawyers and judges, complete with cast and production credits, airdates, detailed synopses and background information. Includes an introductory overview of law-oriented radio and TV broadcasts from the 1920s to the present.

Contains more than 300 signed entries on the individuals, companies, organizations, programs, events, and issues related to TV news, both historical and contemporary.

3 vols. This fully updated and expanded edition covers over 10,200 programmes. In addition to covering the standard network and cable entertainment genres, the book also covers programmes generally not covered elsewhere in print (or even online), including Internet series, aired and unaired pilot films, erotic series, gay and lesbian series, risque cartoons and experimental programmes from 1925 through 1945.

Supplement to the author's Encyclopedia of Television Shows, 1925-2010. Covers 1,612 series broadcast between January 1, 2011, and December 31, 2016. Major networks are covered along with many cable channels. Alphabetical entries provide storylines, casts, networks and running dates. A performer index is included.

Beginning with general guides, dictionaries and encyclopedias, the book then turns to filmographies, filmmakers, and filmmaking respectively. Filmographies list films and television shows in the categories of national cinema and genre, made by studios or filmmakers, or featuring various groups of people. Filmmakers includes biographies and credits for filmmakers and actors.

Lists entries on every British-made children's drama to have been shown on UK screens since 1950. Critical appraisals assess the kind of stories told for children, along with all the technical data and trivia.

Drawn from the online encyclopaedia of queer arts and culture - www.glbtq.com. Alphabetically arranged entries cover topics, people, films, and television shows from an LGBTQ perspective. Each entry contains a bibliography.

Details animated cartoons made exclusively for television from 1949 through 1993. Each entry includes the show's title, network, studios and full production information when available. An essay blending plot description, critical commentary, and background information is also provided for each cartoon. A discussion of the voice artist concludes the work.

A detailed, season-by-season chronology of American television programming from the medium's inception to the present, including every prime time fall schedule since 1944. This third edition includes coverage up through the mid-2010s and looks ahead to the next waves of change. Illustrated, indexed.

Examines cast changes in television programs in nearly 400 entries filled with fascinating television facts and trivia.