HIST 2220: From the New Deal to the Reagan Revolution: Music

Streaming audio of jazz from Naxos and other labels.

Met Opera on Demand delivers instant access to past performances of the Metropolitan Opera's Live in HD series, as well as classic video and audio performances, including radio broadcasts dating back to 1936.

A joint endeavor by New World Records and NYU, the Database of Recorded American Music (DRAM) is designed to facilitate the music research of scholars and students by offering on-demand, streaming access to an extensive and ever-growing catalog of essential music. Recordings are accompanied by liner notes and are keyword-searchable using any number of criteria, including composer, performer, date of publication, Library of Congress classification, and label of origin.

Popular Culture explores the dynamic period of social, political and cultural change between 1950 and 1975. The resource offers thousands of colour images of manuscript and rare printed material as well as photographs, ephemera and memorabilia from this exciting period in our recent history.

Rock reviews, articles and interviews from the late 1950s to the present day.

"An archival research resource containing the essential primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to 2000. The core US and UK trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting and theater are all included, together with film fan magazines and music press titles. Magazines have been scanned cover-to-cover in high-resolution color, with granular indexing of all articles, covers, ads and reviews."--Publisher description.

Containing 27,000 entries and over 6,000 new entries, the online edition of the Encyclopedia of Popular Music includes 50% more material than the Third Edition. Featuring a broad musical scope covering popular music of all genres and periods from 1900 to the present day, including jazz, country, folk, rap, reggae, techno, musicals, and world music, the Encyclopedia also offers thousands of additional entries covering popular music genres, trends, styles, record labels, venues, and music festivals. Key dates, biographies, and further reading are provided for artists covered, along with complete discographies that include record labels, release dates, and a 5-star album rating system.

First published in 1938, and completely revised and updated in 2002, The Oxford Companion to Music has been the first choice for authoritative information on all aspects of music for generations of researchers. This work is now available online as part of Oxford Music Online. Encompassing the world of music in all its variety -- including jazz, popular music, and dance -- the Companion offers a concentrated focus on the Western classic tradition, from the Middle Ages to the present day. In March 2008, The Oxford Companion to Music was relaunched as part of Oxford Music Online.

Covers all topics related to music, including musical instruments, compositional forms and techniques, places of import and scientific topics. Biographical entries cover composers, performers and writers. Includes the full text with ongoing updates of The new Grove dictionary of music and musicians, 2nd ed., The new Grove dictionary of opera, and The new Grove dictionary of jazz, 2nd ed. In March, 2008, Grove Music Online was relaunched as part of Oxford Music Online.