History: A Guide to United States Historical Research at Cornell

One of the leading women's periodicals in the United States, with emphasis on married women.

Contains features about feminist issues and concerns, national and international news concerning women, along with original fiction and poetry.

(1976- 2009) Featured articles on career advancement, entrepreneurship, work/life balance, issues affecting women in the workplace and much more.

Covers black women's interests.

Covers foreign affairs, local and national politics, education and law.

environmental and progressive issues

Discusses national and international issues from a conservative viewpoint.

Literary and Political Reviews. Contains a collection of deeply distinctive approaches, sense of humor, levels of reporting and ways of looking at life.
Cornell subscription to the New Yorker. Full coverage all years.

Contains articles describes interviews and reviews covering all aspects of the pop-rock music industry. Includes features on politics, movies and fashion.

Monthly magazine of general-interest nonfiction articles for the whole family.
"The Digest today may be the most powerful vehidlce for the printed word in the world, claiming that 100 million people read the magazine each month." Socially and politically conservative editorial policy. Simplistic approach to complex ideas and problem solving.
Information from Nourie, American Mass Market Magazines

... a major weekly news magazine with a strong emphasis on photojournalism. This link takes you to Google Books' "About This Magazine" page for Life. Scroll down a bit for the "Browse All Issues" section, which allows you to select individual issues. Use Google Books' Advanced search page to do specific keyword searches. Here is a brief (and somewhat informal) screencast you might find helpful in navigating this resource.

Each issue originally focused on more upper-class sporting activities such as polo and boating, but in the 1960s the magazine expanded its focus to include the increasingly popular professional sports of baseball, football, and, eventually, basketball. Articles and cover pages are fully indexed and advertisements are individually identified, ensuring researchers and readers can quickly and accurately locate the information they seek. Sports Illustrated Magazine Archive is valuable to researchers of 20th-century current events, politics and culture, as well as those interested in the history of business, advertising, and popular culture.

Library supscription from 1975-2012. Current issues see the website: http://www.newsweek.com.

A searchable archive of leading women's interest magazines, dating from the 19th century through to the 21st. Subject coverage includes consumer culture, economics/marketing, family life, fashion, gender studies, health and fitness, home/interior design, popular culture, and social history. This database provides access to the complete archives of several 19th and 20th-century women's magazines. In combination, the publications cover topics such as family life, home economics, health, careers, fashion, culture, and many more; this material serves multiple research areas, from gender studies, social history, and the arts, through to education, politics and marketing/media history.

Independent Voices is an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.

Subjects covered include anarchism, democracy, ecology, feminism, gay and lesbian issues, indigenous peoples, labor, national liberation, and socialism.

Alt-PressWatch includes full-text newspapers and magazines from alternative, independent presses, providing an unmatched, multidisciplinary resource for researchers seeking an alternative to mainstream media perspectives.
Coverage: 1970 - current