A Guide to International and U.S. Statistics Sources: Economic and Financial Statistics

EIC Data contains economic, industrial and financial time-series data for 221 countries in Asia, Europe and Central Asia, Middle East, Africa and the Americas. System requirements: Pop-up capability must be enabled for viewing data.

Organized under 9 themes: General and regional statistics; Economy and finance; Population and social conditions; Industry, trade and services; Agriculture, forestry and fisheries; External Trade; Transport; Environment and energy; Science and technology.

"Contains selected macroeconomic data series from the statistical appendix of the World Economic Outlook report, which presents the IMF staff's analysis and projections of economic developments at the global level, in major country groups and in many individual countries. The WEO is released in April and September/October each year. Use this database to find data on national accounts, inflation, unemployment rates, balance of payments, fiscal indicators, trade for countries and country groups (aggregates), and commodity prices whose data are reported by the IMF. Data are available from 1980 to the present, and projections are given for the next two years. Additionally, medium-term projections are available for selected indicators. For some countries, data are incomplete or unavailable for certain years."
See also: IMF elibrary, above.

"...providing detailed and comparable tax revenue information for 80 countries around the world.”
Please note: This platform and its APIs have reached their end of life and will be switched-off at the end of May 2024.
Data is migrating to the OECD Data Explorer.
To find the corresponding OECD Data Explorer dataset, see this Excel file.*
See: OECD Data Explorer: Annual government taxes and social contributions receipts

Gini, poverty, income, Methods and Concepts.
"To benchmark and monitor income inequality and poverty across countries, the OECD relies on a dedicated statistical database: the OECD Income Distribution Database which offers data on levels and trends in Gini coefficients before and after taxes and transfers, average and median household disposable incomes, relative poverty rates and poverty gaps, before and after taxes and transfers, etc." [publisher page]
Please note: Data from this site is migrating to the new platform, OECD Data Explorer. As of April 2024, not all of the information has migrated. Access to the OECD IDD via OECD.stat will be turned off in May 2024. See: Access via OECD Data Explorer.

"...established in 2008 to coordinate statistical issues and data gaps highlighted by the global crisis and to strengthen data collection., the PGI dataset provides internationally comparable data for the Group of 20 economies (G-20) and economies with systemically important financial sectors that are not members of the G-20. The PGI facilitates the monitoring of economic and financial developments for these jurisdictions. Launched in 2009, the PGI website is hosted by the IMF and is a joint undertaking of the Inter-Agency Group of Economic and Financial Statistics (IAG)."

From 2000 to current, presents current economic and social statistics for more than 200 countries and territories of the world. Provides monthly, quarterly and annual data on a variety of subjects, including population, industrial production indices, price indices, employment and earnings, energy, manufacturing, transport, construction, international merchandise trade, finance and national accounts.
Prior to 2000, the library has many of the earlier publications. Search the catalog for "United Nations Monthly Bulletin of Statistics" and follow the "Continues" and "Continued by" title information in the library records to find all iterations of the title.

55 databases on a wide variety of financial and social statistics. Includes World Development Indicators, below, International Debt Statistics (formerly Global Development Finance), education, gender and health statistics, a poverty and equity database with statistics for 174 countries, back to 1974, and many more.

Development data covering more than 575 indicators, 225 countries, and 18 regional and income groups. The extensive collection of development data includes population, income, social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators for more than forty years (starting in 1960 where data are available). There are hundreds of series (categories) available in the drop-down menus. The new interface walks you through the process of selecting country, series, and time variables. Offers the ability to create tables and extract data to a spreadsheet.