Comparative Government: Statistics & Data

"The Global Open Data Index provides the most comprehensive snapshot available of the state of open government data publication"
Select Datasets to search by dataset type or Places to search by country.
Look under "Metadata" to find the links to data.

"The Bank has compiled and organized over 1,000 searchable statistics and indicators for countries in Latin America and the Caribbean, creating a comprehensive dataset for the region."

Captured by the Internet Archive. No longer being updated.
Originally, curated by the Norwegian Centre for Research Data, the MacroData Guide lists sites for aggregated data as well as "system-level" data of political indicators, such as institutional variables and regime indices.

OECD Data Explorer contains all the datasets released by OECD (Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development). It replaces OECD.stat

From 2000 to current, presents current economic and social statistics for more than 200 countries and territories of the world. Provides monthly, quarterly and annual data on a variety of subjects, including population, industrial production indices, price indices, employment and earnings, energy, manufacturing, transport, construction, international merchandise trade, finance and national accounts.
Prior to 2000, the library has many of the earlier publications. Search the catalog for "United Nations Monthly Bulletin of Statistics" and follow the "Continues" and "Continued by" title information in the library records to find all iterations of the title.

The Database of Political Institutions 2020 (DPI2020) presents institutional and electoral results data such as measures of checks and balances, tenure and stability of the government, identification of party affiliation and ideology, and fragmentation of opposition and government parties in the legislature. The current version of the database expands its coverage to about 180 countries for 45 years, 1975-2020.

Parties’ policy positions derived from a content analysis of parties’ electoral manifestos. It covers over 1000 parties from 1945 until today in over 50 countries on five continents.
On this website you find the Manifesto Project Dataset containing the parties' policy preferences generated by the project. You also find coded and uncoded election manifestos of the parties in the dataset as well as information and links to many applications for the dataset, related projects and publications etc.

The Standard Data includes over 2000, coded variables divided into sixteen thematic categories such as Quality of Government, Economy, Media, Environment, and Political System etc.
Read the Codebook to determine if the variable you need is covered in the dataset. Also includes several newer datasets, specific to the EU.

REIGN Dataset Author: Curtis Bell
"The Rulers, Elections, and Irregular Governance (REIGN) dataset describes political conditions in every country each and every month. These conditions include the tenures and personal characteristics of world leaders, the types of political institutions and political regimes in effect, election outcomes and election announcements, and irregular events like coups, coup attempts and other violent conflicts. The dataset covers more than 200 countries for each month they were independent, January 1950 to the present. REIGN was created by gathering original data, compiling other datasets on political conditions, reviewing their coding rules, and updating all information to the present." [About]

The V-Dem project distinguishes between seven high-level principles of democracy: electoral, liberal, participatory, deliberative, egalitarian, majoritarian and consensual, and collects data to measure these principles. World-wide coverage from 1900 to the present.

"The Observatory for Political Conflict and Democracy (PolDem) is a platform that produces and houses data on protest events, election campaigns, and issue-specific public contestation covering a wide-range of European countries..."Years of coverage vary.