Political Systems and Concepts -- More Reference Titles
Encyclopedia of Social and Political MovementsPublication Date: 2013-02-25David A. Snow (Editor); Donatella Della Porta (Editor); Bert Klandermans (Editor); Doug McAdam (Editor)
Covers social movements, worldwide and throughout history, "organized, authored and edited by leading scholars."
- The International Encyclopedia of Revolution and Protest, 1500 to the Present [2009]".... presents major uprisings and protest movements, and the ideas, ideologies and activists that propelled them, chronicles the manner in which they unfolded, traces their roots, goals, tactics, and influence, and evaluates their successes and failures. [Also available in print, Olin Reference JC 491.I58 2009. 8 vols.]
The search box searches across all of the publisher's content, much of it unrelated to social and political movements. To search The Encyclopedia of Social & Political Movements, first click the link to "Search in this book."
Older, print titles.
Encyclopedia of Democracy by Publication Date: 1995Print title.
Signed articles by 200 leading scholars. Topics include democratic participation, country and regional studies, and key democratic documents. Each article includes a bibliography.
Encyclopedia of Nationalism by Publication Date: 2001Print title.
Covers concepts, figures, movements and events. Each entry begins with a glossary of key terms and a topical outline. Entries include cross-references to related entries and a list for Further Reading.
The Encyclopedia of Political Revolutions by Publication Date: 1998Print title.
"The Encyclopedia of Political Revolutions chronicles 2000 years of political revolutions....providing answers to specific questions as well as in-depth treatment of events and trends.
Includes descriptions of specific revolutions, important revolutionary figures, and major revolutionary themes; generous use of illustrative material; special analyses of the role of women, art, literature, and music; biographies, and a detailed index." [publisher]
Encyclopedia of the Stateless Nations by Publication Date: 2002Print title.
"Provides information on over 300 groups that identify themselves as a separate nation, have adopted some outward characteristics of a state (e.g., a flag), and have formed a nationalist or political organization...."
Entries cover each group's national history, language, religion, and homeland occupied and include both a population estimate and sources for further reading. Appendixes list geographical distribution, national organizations, and dates when independence was declared." [adapted from Booklist review]
