Comparative Government: Political Systems and Concepts

From the Comparative Institutions Project at the University of Texas.
Provides constitutions in force as of September 2013 from most of the world’s independent states. Constitutions are updated as they are amended.

Go to EIU ViewPoint. Then select Geography. Country Reports provide in-depth analysis and forecasts for an individual country's economy and political situation. The service comprises a regular forecast report (monthly for most countries, quarterly for smaller economies) that provides a point-in-time outlook for issues such as economic growth, economic policy, inflation, exchange rates, political stability and effectiveness, elections and international relations.

Available online from Sage Reference Online. Search tip! To avoid searching across the entire collection of Sage Reference sources, scroll down to find the "Search within" feature, below the title.
" ....[covering] every field of politics, from political theory and methodology to political sociology, comparative politics, public policies, and international relations." [Preface]

The PARLINE database contains information on the structure and working methods of 266 parliamentary chambers in all of the 190 countries where a national legislature exists.

Available in the Sage Knowledge database, Political Handbook of the World provides updated political profiles of all of the world's countries and details the history and activities of a number of intergovernmental organizations. Each country profile provides basic facts about the country, detailed background information on the country's history, government and politics, and political parties. Use the Advanced Search to search by regime type, party system, electoral system, system of government, and by region.

Search by title in the Sage Knowledge database.
Political Handbook of the World provides updated political profiles of all of the world's countries and details the history and activities of a number of intergovernmental organizations. Each country profile provides basic facts about the country, detailed background information on the country's history, government and politics, and political parties. Use the Advanced Search to search by regime type, party system, electoral system, system of government, and by region.

"This Handbook presents in one volume an authoritative overview of the theoretical, methodological, and substantive elements of comparative political science.

"This collection features research reports and other publications on a wide range of legal topics prepared by the Law Library of Congress in response to requests or recurring interest from Congress and other federal government entities on issues concerning foreign, comparative, and international law (FCIL)." [about]

"... information on sources of foreign law, including complete bibliographic citations to legislation, the existence of English translations and selected references to secondary sources in one virtual destination. Broad in content and global in scope, the FLG is an indispensable resource for comparative law research and a fundamental tool for developing a foreign and comparative law collection. Approximately 190 jurisdictions are systemically covered and updated by a global team of experts." [About]