Anthropology: Guide to Library Collections and Services : Reference Materials

An encyclopedia of anthropology and interrelated areas, providing an authoritative and expert overview of the concepts, research, and techniques that together define the discipline.

Features more than 450 entries covering topics ranging from ongoing human evolution, paleoanthropology, and non-human primates to paleopathology, forensic anthropology, and bioarchaeology.

Developed cooperatively with scholars and librarians worldwide, Oxford Bibliographies offers exclusive, authoritative research guides.

The Annual Review of Anthropology, in publication since 1972, covers significant developments in the subfields of Anthropology, including archaeology, biological anthropology, linguistics and communicative practices, regional studies and international anthropology, and sociocultural anthropology.

Provides the most comprehensive picture available today of research methods (quantitative, qualitative and mixed methods)across the social and behavioural sciences. It includes more than 100,000 pages of SAGE book and reference material on research methods as well as editorially selected material from SAGE journals.

Maps the social and behavioral sciences on a grand scale. The Encyclopedia includes: 3,842 signed articles; 15 million words of text; 90,000 bibliographic references; 150 biographical entries.

Succinct entries on major individuals, theories, developments, and terms in feminist history and thought. Bibliographies.

A comprehensive guide to the subject of human evolution. Substantive entries on each topic are signed and often include references to further reading. Contains charts on the classification of primates and geologic periods and biographies of major figures.

This Encyclopedia provides a survey of archaeological method and theory, as well as the application of physical and biological sciences in archaeological research.

Encyclopedia delineates the ethnographic characteristics of 65 hunter-gatherer societies in the indigenous world. Particular attention is given to the effects of culture contact as these groups are influenced by, and adapt to, new social, technical and economic forces

General anthropology literature guide with an emphasis on cultural anthropology. Subjects covered include, but are not limited to, anthropology of women, ethnomusicology, folklore, religion and visual anthropology.

The latest edition of a major literature guide provides citations and informative annotations on a wide range of reference sources, including manuals, bibliographies, indexes, databases, literature surveys and reviews, dissertations, book reviews, conference proceedings, awards, and employment and grant sources.

This revised second edition serves not only as a self-instructional reference tool for logically and systematically accessing anthropological literature but also as a basic text for library instruction programs for undergraduate and graduate anthropology students.

The third edition of this now standard text in universities nationwide has been updated and expanded to comprise more than 1500 annotated citations, offering librarians and researchers fast and easy access to some of the best and most commonly used resources in social science literature.

Spanning the period from the late nineteenth to the early twenty-first centuries,

For each president the book provides a photograph and a biography with personal anecdotes, career highlights, and information about his or her contributions to the development of the discipline of anthropology.

This volume of 14 papers focuses on the use of archival records to answer historical and current questions about human health and biology. The contributors use data from church registers, medical collections and other sources to add to our knowledge of the human biology of past population.

Provides a guide to collections and documentation concerning indigenous peoples as well as selective coverage of partly urbanized peoples of North America, Europe, Asia and other regions. Indexes provide approaches by personal name or ethnic group keyword. Most of the major repositories in the U.S. and Canada are included. Resources in Great Britain, France, the Netherlands, and several other countries are selectively represented. The subject scope is broad, encompassing biological anthropology, archaeology, folklore and some aspects of linguistics.