Human Relations Area File (HRAF)
- HRAF byCall Number: Olin Library Microfiche 887A collection on microfiche of over 800,000 pages of primary source materials, including books, journal articles, dissertations, unpublished field reports and translations on selected cultures or societies from all over the world. Subject access is provided by a coding system based on geographical area and cultural group.
- eHRAF World CulturesIn 1994 the HRAF files began to be produced electonically. While some of the online resources reproduce information from the original microfiche files, much of the material is new. It is published annually and is a full-text, fully-indexed cultural database. It focuses on mostly pre-industrial cultures from around the world, and on North American immigrant groups. eHRAF differs from other databases because the documents (e.g. books, journal articles, dissertations) are indexed at the paragraph-level with over 700 subject codes from the Outline of Cultural Materials (OCM).
Using the Microfiche to research a culture or trait
- Find the cultural group code number(s) by consulting the Outline of World Cultures.
Note: HRAF covers only selected groups indicated by a pencil mark under or around the code numbers.
- Find the cultural trait category number(s) by consulting the Outline of Cultural Materials.
- Find the cultural group file by code number in the microfiche cabinet.
- Within the group file, look for microfiche with the cultural trait category numbers on the upper left corner.
- Put the microfiche in a reader, find the section with the cultural trait number and look for the large numbered dots in the margins. They are adjacent to text excerpts that pertain to your cultural trait category.
- If the material is of interest, copy down the source number, the author’s name and the cultural group code found on the top of the microfiche.
- For a complete bibliographic citation, consult the HRAF Source Bibliography. It is arranged by cultural group code then subarranged by source number.
OR consult category number 111 within the microfiche file for your cultural group. It also contains bibliographic citations and abstracts of HRAF source material.
- For the full text of the source material search the Olin catalog for the title to see if it has been published in print form.
OR consult category number 116 within the microfiche file for your cultural group. It contains the full text of many HRAF source publications.
NOTE: To find out, ahead of time, which cultural group files contain material on specific cultural traits, consult the microfiche “Index”, located at the beginning of the first drawer of the HRAF cabinet, by cultural trait category number. The index is not complete, but it may save some search time.
Using the microfiche to locate a document found in the catalog
For the full text of the source material found in the Library Catalog:
1. Check eHRAF to make sure the content has not been digitized. Records for the individual items from eHRAF are not in the library catalog.
2. Check the Catalog to see if the item is available in another format such as print.
3. If only available on fiche go to the HRAF microfiche set on the lower level of Olin Library. Olin Fiche 887.
OR consult category number 116 within the microfiche file for your cultural group. It contains the full text of many HRAF source publications.
Profile
mm342@cornell.edu