Anthropology: Guide to Library Collections and Services : Other Anthropology Resources

Abstracts are grouped in four sections: archaeology, ethnology (or cultural anthropology), linguistics and physical anthropology. Covers books, articles and conference papers. The number of journals indexed increased in 1987, resulting in 2 bound volumes per year. Coverage includes more medical and scientific journals than other anthropological indexes. Author and subject indexes are included in each quarterly issue, and then cumulated annually. The subject index is weak; single, unqualified terms are used, followed by many entry numbers, resulting in excessive searching to retrieve relevant material.

1999-2006 available online as Anthropological Abstacts.
Contains substantial English language abstracts of German language journal articles and books. Films are included only through 1990. Cornell subscribes to approximately 3/4 of the journals covered. Subject and author indexes are provided.

Lists and describes the subject content of organized sessions held at the annual meeting, followed by abstracts of papers given, arranged by author. Abstracts of films and videos are also provided.

Indexes and provides summaries of articles pertaining to the technical aspects of archaeology, including dating techniques, chemical analysis and conservation.

Section 521 Sociologie
Section 529 Ethnologie
Section 525 Préhistoire
Section 526 Art et Archéologie

This major abstracting service is international in scope and includes many English language journals in its coverage. While the subject index is only in French, it is well worth using for those who have any facility with the language. In addition to ethnic group and geographic indexes, a topical index ("index des concepts") provides detailed subject access.

NOTE: The Bulletin has a complex publishing history with various subject sections splitting and recombining. "Ethnologie" was combined with "Sociologie" prior to 1986. Prior to 1969, the social sciences were indexed under the general section "Sciences Humaines". For coverage from 1984 onward, see the Francis database (see above in Databases)

Devoted primarily to socio-cultural anthropology, this annual publication is world-wide in scope, but volumes lag several years behind in publication
Many forms of written publications are indexed, including government documents, excluding unpublished theses. The subject indexes are listed in French and in English at the back of each volume. No abstracts are provided. Use the Thematic List of Descriptors Anthropology for subject headings

Contains information on academic, museum, research and government departments of anthropology in the U.S. and Canada. Provides statistics on enrollments, employment, and degrees granted. Includes a list of dissertations by author. Personal names and departmental indexes are provided.

Discusses the profession, the skills and knowledge required, and undergraduate and graduate programs. To help in the decision-making process, task assignments are designed to assess academic programs and student needs.

Describes more than 700 sponsored research programs. Geared toward the needs of graduate students as well as professional anthropologists. Includes many less well known sources of funding.