Health Insurance and Costs
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
Medical Expenditures Panel Survey
A nationally representative survey on the specific health services that Americans use, how frequently they use them, the cost of these services, and how they are paid for, as well as data on the cost, scope, and breadth of health insurance held by and available to U.S. workers. MEPS consist of four surveys and began in 1996.
HCUPnet: Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project
HCUPnet is an online interactive system that analyzes health statistics and information on hospital stays at the national, regional, and state level. Data is available from 1997 and trend information is available since 1993.
Census Bureau
The Health Insurance section provides an overview of Census programs that include data on health insurance with links to reports and data. These programs include the Current Population Survey, Survey of Income and Program Participation, Small Area Health Insurance Estimates, and Analysis of Survey Underestimation of Medicaid Enrollment.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
The National Health Interview Survey (NHIS) is the principal source of information on the health of the civilian non-institutionalized population of the United States and is one of the major data collection programs of the National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS). Includes questions about access to care and insurance.
Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services
CMS Office of Enterprise Data and Analytics publishes CMS Program Statistics which includes detailed summary statistics on Medicare populations, utilization, and expenditures, as well as counts for Medicare-certified institutional and non-institutional providers. Links to historical data previously covered by other publications are provided.
Medicare Enrollment Dashboard
Includes county data on hospital insurance, supplemental medical insurance, unduplicated count of persons enrolled in either or both parts of the program and Persons enrolled in both parts of the program.
Research, Statistics, Data & Systems
Compiles multiple data collection and dissemination programs from the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services. Look for the Statistics, Trends & Reports heading to view a complete list of publications.
Dartmouth Institute for Health Policy & Clinical Practice
The Dartmouth Atlas of Health Care project focuses on how medical resources are distributed and used in the U.S.
State Health Access Data Assistance Center
The State Health Access Data Assistance Center (SHADAC) is a program of the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation and a part of the Health Policy and Management Division of the School of Public Health at the University of Minnesota. Provides state level data about health care coverage.
Urban Institute
This independent research institute makes available research through its Health Policy Center. Reports and statistical tables (mostly from government sources) are available on the following topics: private insurance, uninsured, Medicaid and State Children's Health Insurance Program, Medicare, disability and long-term care, and vulnerable populations.