Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Presentations or projects are often enhanced by including images. Cornell Library provides a library guide to finding visual resources that includes useful links and information on how to cite images. Some of the information from that guide is included on this page. Unexpected Images is another recommended guide. Susette Newberry, the Head of Research and Learning Services at at Olin Library is the author of both guides.
Image Search Engines
Google Images is a quick and easy way to find lots of images from web pages across the globe. But it only searches web content that it can find -- many images are actually hidden in databases or archives (whether freely available or in Cornell's subscription databases). The quality of images - size, resolution, description, usage rights - also varies considerably on the open web. Use Google, but don't rely on it for all image searches. Explore this page and Cornell's image databases for more high-quality options.
Image search engine that locates high-resolution images with Creative Commons licenses for use in presentations, blogs, etc. Also retrieves stock photos.
Fotolia is a world-leading image bank, providing instant access to over 42 million images, vectors, illustrations and video clips. It is powered by a diverse international community of artists, graphic designers and agencies who bring you tens of thousands of new and unique images, illustrations and videos every single day
Use Google's web search to find hidden image collections. Search example:
KEYWORD image (archive OR gallery OR collection OR database) site:.edu
Google Image Search
Tip: Use advanced search or facets to limit by image size, images within a domain/site (e.g. site: cornell.edu), and usage rights.
TinEye Reverse Image Search
Submit an image to TinEye to find out where it came from, how it is being used, if modified versions of the image exist, or to find higher resolution versions.
Free high-resolution photos.10 new photos will be sent to your email address every 10 days if you subscribe.
CU Library's Image Collections
The eCommons Digital Repository is powered by DSpace and is open to anyone affiliated with Cornell University (faculty, staff, students, or groups/organizations) as a place to capture, store, index, preserve and redistribute materials in digital formats that may be useful for educational, scholarly, research or historical purposes.