Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Newspapers can provide historical context related to local landmarks. For a list of newspaper sources available through Cornell libraries go to the library database page and click on the category labeled: Newspapers, Magazines and Current Events. Information on specific newspapers to which Cornell students have access can be found in the Today's News section of the Current Topics guide created by Michael Engle.
The Ithaca Journal is one of the local papers that might be useful. Its archives can only be accessed by subscribers, but older copies of the Journal are available at Olin Library -- on microfiche and online (after 1999).
To find information on the exact holdings, go to the Library Catalog and then do a search for Ithaca Journal, choosing Journal Title from the pulldown option for fields.
New York Newspapers
New York Times, 1851-2017*
In ProQuest Historical Newspapers.
* one year of coverage added each calendar year
America's Historical Newspapers
Cornell restricted resource.
157 titles of New York Newspapers, covering 29 cities. Copies range in date from 1733-1850 (though most are early 19th century). Six titles for Ithaca, from 1817 to 1837, are included. (The same titles are available through the subscription product GenealogyBank.com.
Syracuse Newspapers, 1809 to 2008.
The Syracuse Post-Standard has made over 4 million pages of Syracuse newspapers from 1809 to 2008 available through the NewspaperArchive.com product (to which Cornell subscribes).
Geneva Area Newspapers
Hobart and WIlliam Smith Colleges has made the full-text of several Geneva-area newspapers freely available and is indexing others. Currently The Expositor (1806-1809), Geneva Gazette (1809-1812 and misc. issues 1824-1826), and Geneva Palladium from 1821-1825 and 1826-1828, with misc. issues from 1816-1820, are online.
Rochester Area Historic Newspapers Collection
The Monroe County Public Library System in Rochester, NY has created a Rochester Area Historic Newspapers Collection with digitized copies of 19th and early 20th century newspapers with a Rochester area connection. 12 titles are available, including Frederick Douglass' Paper
and The North Star
(both of which are also available in text form from Accessible Archives
), the Liberal Advocate
, and the Rights of Man.
African-American Newspapers: The 19th Century
Cornell restricted resource.
Available online and as a CD in the Libray, includes 4 New York papers: Freedom's Journal
(available above as well), The Colored American (Weekly Advocate)
, Frederick Douglass Paper
, and The North Star. Accessible Archives
offers transcriptions of the orignal text.
The Friend of Man
Digitized by Cornell University Library, The Friend of Man is an early reform era and abolitionist paper published in Central New York from 1836-1842.
The Suffolk County Public Library makes 7 titles ranging in date from 1839 to 1960 available in its Suffolk Historic Newspaper project.
Central and Northern New York
The Old Fulton NY Post Card WebSite has scanned and indexed over 6 million pages of central and northern New York newspapers. A browsable list of titles, which range in date from 1806 to 2007, is available. There are 8 titles from Ithaca, ranging in date from 1846 to 1922.
The Empty Closet
The Empty Closet is one of the oldest continuously published LGBT papers in the United States. It was begun at the University of Rochester and later transferred to the Gay Alliance of the Genesee Valley (GAGV). Issues from 1971 to 2001 are available online and searchable.
Cornell University and Ithaca College Student Newspapers
The Cornell Daily Sun is available, beginning with 1880, though the coverage over the years is not complete. The Ithaca College Ithacan has been digitized starting with 1926.
Ithaca Historical Newspapers
When looking for historical information, it can be useful to know the names of local newspapers as they have changed over the years. News sources currently available include the Ithaca Journal, Tompkins Weekly and the Ithaca Times.
The following titles covered Ithaca events in the 19th century and early 20th century. Use the library catalog to determine whether Cornell provides access to any of the newspapers. Information is available on the Rare and Manuscript Collections website on how to make a reading room appointment for items that can only be viewed on site.
- American Journal -- 1817 to 1823
- Ithaca Daily Chronicle -- 1846 to 1850
- Ithaca Daily Democrat -- 1884
- Ithaca Daily Journal -- 1870
- Ithaca Gazette -- 1817
- Ithaca Herald -- 1836 to 1837
- Ithaca Independent -- 1907 to 1908
- Ithaca Journal (early editions) -- 1823 to 1831
- Ithaca Morning Herald -- 1894 to 1895
- Ithaca Tompkins County Democrat -- 1857 to 1861
- Republican Chronicle -- 1820 to 1822
- Seneca Republican -- 1815