Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Since some landmarks that are chosen might be on or near Cornell's campus, these resources might prove useful. The full guide on Cornell University history provides additional information on digital collections.
ECommons is also a useful repository of Cornell documents, reports, faculty memorial statements, alumni newsletters and much more. All of its contents are publicly available and digitized.
Selected Digital & Multimedia Collections about Cornell
Cornell: Campus Artifacts, Art & Memorabilia
This collection includes updated images and information that supersedes these two books: Wells, Elizabeth Baker. Contributions to Cornell History: Portraits and Memorabilia (1984) and Nelson, Diane B. Contributions to Cornell History: Portraits, Memorabilia, Plaques and Artists (1990).
Cornell University Archives Web Archive
"The University Archives collects and preserves records of historical, legal, fiscal, and/or administrative value to Cornell University. Holdings include official records and reports of the university, its officers, and component parts; private papers of faculty, students, staff, and alumni; official and student publications; maps and architectural records; audiovisual materials including still photographs and negatives, motion picture film, oral history interviews, and audio and video tapes; and artifacts and ephemera documenting Cornell's history. This web collection includes web sites in the cornell.edu domain, as well as external sites created by Cornell-affiliated groups."
Cornell University Digital Archives
Contains the following digitized materials:
The Cornell Era, a weekly paper, 1868-1871 Cornell University
Class Book, 1897-1904
Annual Report of the President, 1881-1899, 1939-1949
The Register, 1882-1910
Official Publications of Cornell University, vols. 7-14, 1915-1923
Proceedings of the Board of Trustees of Cornell University, Including the Minutes of the Executive Committee, April 1865 - July 1885
A collection of nearly 2,000 videos by and about Cornell. Includes CyberTower
, Cornell faculty lectures on a wide variety of subjects.
Ezra Cornell Papers
Digitized materials related to the life of Ezra Cornell, founder of Cornell University. Consists of three parts: Ezra Cornell's Correspondence and Diaries (1746-1886), Ezra Cornell's Life and Times (an online exhibit prepared by the Division of Rare and Manuscript Collections), and Genealogy of the Cornell Family by John Cornell, published in 1902.
Ezra's Farmstead: The Origins of Cornell
Seven streaming videos with Kent Hubbell and John Ullberg:
Stone Row (15:14)
North End (10:23)
East/South Ends (14:03)
Newer Buildings (9:10)
"The story of the earliest days of Cornell University is about much more than the construction of buildings. The opinions and personalities of the men and women decision-makers, the political climate of the times, the financial health of the University, even the layout of the surrounding landscape all played a vital role in the formation of what we know today as the Cornell campus." [from the Introduction episode]
Human Ecology: Historical Photographs
"This Web site provides a database of selected images and information from the records of the College of Home Economics. The photographs are organized by general subjects: Resident Teaching; International, National, State, and Local Public Relations; All-College Activities; Administration and Personnel; Departments and Divisions; Buildings and Equipment; History of the College; and Miscellaneous. Within any particular general subject category, there are more specific topics, e.g. "Resident Teaching" includes "Students and Student Life," "Homemaking Apartments," and "Apartment Babies." Descriptive information is provided for each image. Additional photographs may be found in this collection and in other holdings of the Division of Rare and Manuscript Collections." [from About the Photographs]
An online collection of audio and video resources managed by DCAPS (Digital Production & Media Services in the Cornell University Library). Resources on the site are a combination of open access resources and some resources that are restricted to the Cornell community. Check out the Projects
page on the DCAPS website to see what they are currently working on.