Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENVS 4940 Field Research in the Ecological Arts: Art and Curiosity Collections

Art Collections

Cornell University's Herbert F. Johnson Museum of Art maintains collections of American, African and Asian Pacific artworks, along with photographs, videos and prints. These are not focused on Ithaca area artists, but there are some local works in the collection.

Mann Library's Special Collections primarily includes print materials, but there are a few artifacts in the vault. Of note, are the Language of Flowers collection and the Phillips Beekeeping collections.

The Wharton Studio Museum (which is primarily virtual) pays tribute to the early filmmaking done by the Wharton Brothers in Stewart Park.

The Greater Ithaca ArtTrail is sponsored by the Community Arts Partnership. Learn about local artists and soak in the creativity of Ithaca area residents.

It is hard to avoid the beautiful and thought provoking murals that are part of the Ithaca landscape -- along with scenic electrical boxes in downtown Ithaca.

Interesting Ithaca Area Curiosities and Art

Atlas Obscura highlights 9 Ithaca area cool and unusual things to explore. This includes the Wilder Brain Collection in Uris Library.

Download the Sagan Planet walk route and fan out from the sun on the Ithaca Commons to Pluto at the Sciencenter.

Barton Hall used to be an armory and houses a small military museum inside one of its upper rooms (with artifacts & medals from some Cornell veterans on display) - https://veteransmemorials.cornell.edu/barton-hall-2/ 

There are also a number of military monuments on Cornell's campus.

The Cayuga Nature Center features a fabulous multi-storied treehouse that overlooks a small gorge. Call ahead to make sure the treehouse is open during COVID.