Kheel Center Archived Websites
This page highlights all labor related archived websites created by Kheel Center donors or related to Kheel Center collections, many preserved every 6 months. Topics include Police Unions and Associations, Textile and Garment Industries Collection, U.S. Worker Centers Web Archive, and Work and COVID-19. These archived donor websites feature campaigns, essays, reports, photographs, poetry, and videos. They are created by organizations including UNITE HERE; Rochester and Vicinity Labor Council; United Transportation, and the Sheet Metal, Air, Rail, Transportation workers; 1199SEIU United Healthcare Workers East; Sidney Hillman Foundation; Interfaith Worker Justice; Jobs With Justice; National Academy of Arbitrators; and the National Employment Law Project. An additional focus is on websites documenting workers and working conditions in China including China Labor Watch, China Labour Bulletin, Workers’ Poetry Alliance, Peppercorn Tribe Jian Jiao, and Talk About Labor Rights. Some of these sites are in Chinese.
To access archived sites from the 1990s-present, visit The Internet Archive's Wayback Machine where you can locate earlier union/management websites, not found in this collection.
A complete list of library archived websites can be found here:
Cornell University Library archived websites
Kheel Center for Labor-Management Documentation and Archives Web Archive
Kheel Center for Labor-Management Documentation and Archives Web Archive
Archived since: Mar, 2012
Description:
These archived donor websites feature campaigns, essays, reports, photographs, poetry, and videos. They are created by organizations including UNITE HERE; Rochester and Vicinity Labor Council; United Transportation, and the Sheet Metal, Air, Rail, Transportation workers; 1199SEIU United Healthcare Workers East; Sidney Hillman Foundation; Interfaith Worker Justice; Jobs With Justice; National Academy of Arbitrators; and the National Employment Law Project. An additional focus is on websites documenting workers and working conditions in China including China Labor Watch, China Labour Bulletin, Workers’ Poetry Alliance, Peppercorn Tribe Jian Jiao, and Talk About Labor Rights. Some of these sites are in Chinese.
Textile and Garment Industries Collection
Textile and Garment Industries Collection
Archived since: Jun, 2019
Description:
In 2017 the collections of the former American Textile History Museum in Lowell, Massachusetts were acquired by the Kheel Center for Labor-Management Documentation Archives. The Textile and Garment Industries Collections is part of an effort to preserve the history of those industries in the United States by acting as a repository for the websites of the existing textile and garment production in the United States.
Work and COVID-19
Archived since: Apr, 2020
Description:
Collection of national and international web pages documenting the responses by unions, governments, nonprofits, employer consultants, and the textile industry to labor and employment challenges raised by the coronavirus disease (COVID-19).
Police Unions and Associations
Police Unions and Associations
Archived since: Feb, 2021
Description:
Analyses of the role of policing in society have reached a peak with issues of law enforcement, social justice, and public security taking center stage. A range of policies and methods, as well as critical statements and aspirational proposals, are documented in the websites of law enforcement labor unions, professional associations including associations of minority law enforcement officers, and police accountability organizations.
U.S. Worker Centers Web Archive
U.S. Worker Centers Web Archive
Archived since: Feb, 2017
Description:
Worker centers are community-based and community-led organizations that organize and provide support to workers. The number of worker centers in the United States has been steadily growing since the 1990s. Many worker centers have established an internet presence through web sites and social media. Worker centers often operate on limited budgets and staffing, resulting in web sites and content that can be ephemeral. With this collection of web sites, the Martin P. Catherwood Library in Cornell University’s ILR School aims to make information about these worker organizations available to future generations of scholars.