International Relations: News Sources

Full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international sources. Dates covered vary by newspaper. Does not include some of the larger papers, such as The New York Times, Wall Street Journal or Washington Post. See Factiva and Nexis Uni, below.

In-depth, full-text information, from Russia and the former Soviet Union. Resources include newspapers, newswires, popular and scholarly periodicals, and government documents.

AllAfrica posts over 1000 stories daily in English and French, as well offering a 900,000-article searchable archive (which includes the archive of Africa News Service dating from 1997). This database aggregates and indexes content from over 125 African news organizations, plus more than 200 other sources.

Full-text online service for international news and business information
From the Factiva home page navigation bar, open Search.
Note: the home page opens to the day's news from the Wall Street Journal, among others (with a drop-down menu to dates over the past week). Use the Search link from the homepage navigation bar to search all of the sources in Factiva.

Search tips:
Begin your search with hlead followed by your search terms in parentheses. to find your search terms in the headline or lead paragraph. Example: hlead(medicaid expansion)
To find longer articles add and length >1000 (1000, 1500, etc.). Example: hlead(medicaid expansion) and length>1000
Note: To find editorials, add and section (editorial or opinion).
Note: You can also begin by finding and then adding specific sources to search. Under Menu, select "All Sources".
Please note: You do not need to register with Nexis Uni to search or download content. Registering with a database will always carry privacy risks.

For best results, select the Advanced Search. Scroll down to choose Document types. If you wish, use the date limits on the right to restrict your results to a particular date range.

Full-text and full-image articles from the Times of London for the years 1785-2006. It is a digital reproduction, cover to cover, of the paper in PDF files.

Round-the-clock monitoring of TV, radio, press, internet and news agencies from around the world from primarily open media sources.
Ability to provide "the words as spoken" -- accurate and impartial translations of what leading figures have said.
Access via the Factiva database. From the Factiva home page navigation bar, open Search. In the Source field, enter BBC Monitoring for

A searchable archive of articles from: Keesing's contemporary archives, 1931-1986, and: Keesing's record of world events, 1987-2016.
Provides a detailed summary of the world's political, social, and economic events.

Created by the U.S. intelligence community to benefit policy makers and analysts. Includes content from thousands of monitored broadcasts and publications. Translated into English from more than 50 languages. Coverage from 1941-1996.

Limited number of free articles
Subscription options (for full access):
Undergrad: Free access provided by the Student Assembly for all Cornell undergraduates. See below.
Grad, Faculty, Staff: Educational Discount.
Please note: Cornell students, staff, and faculty can also search the New York Times via Nexis Uni.

First time users must create an account. Access made possible by a partnership between the Student Assembly and Cornell University Library.

"The euro|topics press review appears from Monday to Friday in four languages: German, English, French and Turkish.
The services euro|topics provides are supported by a network of correspondents that stretches across Europe. They scan more than 500 newspapers, magazines and blogs in 30 countries (the EU plus Switzerland and Turkey) on a daily basis, select the most important commentaries, essays and reflections and then translate selected quotes. Brief introductions inform you of the current state of the debate and one click will bring you to the original article." [About EuroTopics]

Current coverage (generally, the last 90 days) from papers around the world.
Note: After opening an article, use the 3 vertical dot menu to find translations of the article, when available.