- Resort to war : a data guide to inter-state, extra-state, intra-state, and non-state wars, 1816-2007Based on the Correlates of War datasets [see entry on this guide], this title is also available online via our new subscription to the CQ Political Reference Suite. For now, access this title via the Cornell subscription to CQEL. There is also a circulating print copy, call number: JZ6385 .S27 2010 +.
- Small Arms SurveyProject established by the Swiss government in 1999 in order to serve as an international source of public information on all aspects of small arms. The website provides online access to many of the Small Arms Survey's publications, databases, and other resources.
Small Arms Survey is an independent research project located at the Graduate Institute of International and Development Studies in Geneva, Switzerland.
- START - The National Consortium for the Study of Terrorism and Responses to Terrorism"A Department of Homeland Security Center of Excellence headquartered at the University of Maryland, START supports the research efforts of leading social scientists at more than 50 academic and research institutions, each of whom is conducting original investigations into fundamental questions about terrorism."
- SIPRI databasesArms transfers, the arms industry, multilateral peace operations, military expenditures, arms embargos, arms exports, and the financial value of the global arms trade
- The United Nations Disarmament YearbookAvailable in print and online.
Olin Library, JX1974 .U48. Latest volume in Reference
Disarmament Resolutions and Decisions of the United Nations General Assembly.
- Correlates of WarThe Correlates of War Project was founded in 1963. The original and continuing goal of the project has been the systematic accumulation of scientific knowledge about war.
- Uppsala Conflict Data ProgramThe Uppsala Conflict Data Program (UCDP) has recorded ongoing violent conflicts since the 1970s. The data provided is one of the most accurate and well-used data-sources on global armed conflicts and its definition of armed conflict is becoming a standard in how conflicts are systematically defined and studied.Note: Data is summarized annually in the Journal of Peace Research: "Armed Conflicts: UCDP Annual Special Data Features."
- World Handbook Data Project"The World Handbook of Political Indicators IV provides a set of country-level measures of contentious politics events in the tradition of the World Handbook of Social and Political Indicators (Taylor and Jodice 1983) and similar event data systems." [website]
- Cross National Time-Series ArchiveThe Cross-National Time-Series Data Archive is a data set comprised ofmore than 200 years of annual data from 1815 onwards for over 200 countries. Its 196 variables are used by academia, government, finance and media.
Also available at CISER
- Journal of Peace ResearchMine the source notes of relevant articles.
Conflict & Security: Statistics and Background
- Annual Review of Global Peace Operations byCall Number: Latest edition in Olin Library Reference JZ6374.A56+; earlier editions in Olin stacksFrom the Center on International Cooperation, the series presents data on peace operations conducted by the UN, regional organizations, coalitions and individual nations. Includes a "Strategic Summary" of the year, Mission Reviews, Mission Notes, Global Statistics on UN-Commanded Missions, Global Statistics on Non-UN-Commanded Misssion, and UN Mission-by-Mission Statistics.
- Defense & Foreign Affairs HandbookCall Number: 16th edition in Olin Library Reference UA10 .D31 +; earlier editions in Olin stacksPolitical, economic and defense data on every country in the world.
- The Military BalanceCall Number: Latest volume in Olin Library Reference, UA15.L84 M6A region-by-region analysis of the major military and economic trends and developments affecting security policy and the trade in weapons and other military equipment. Comprehensive tables portray key data on weapons and defence economics. Defence expenditure trends over a 10-year period are also shown. [IISS]
- SIPRI YearbookCall Number: Latest volume in Olin Library Reference, JX1974 .S84; earlier editions in stacksSecurity and conflicts; Military spending and armaments; Non-proliferation, arms control and disarmament.
"Contains extensive annexes on the implementation of arms control and disarmament agreements and a chronology of events during the year in the area of security and arms control.....extensively footnoted, providing a comprehensive bibliography in each subject area. [OUP] "
- Strategic Survey: the Annual Review of World AffairsCall Number: Latest volume in Olin Reference; earlier volumes (from 1996 - ) in Uris Stacks. Call number: UA15.L84 S8."The book provides essential analysis of key events and issues in international affairs over the past year. It includes a series of detailed maps highlighting topics and trends of particular interest or relevance. " [publisher web site]