Skip to main content

Finding Health Data and Statistics: Minorities & Women

This guide provides websites and resources for finding data sets and statistics in the area of health and health care.

Minorities and Women

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

FastStats
Basic statistics from CDC publications, links to more data and related resources.

Indian Health Service

Division of Program Statistics
Provides American Indian/Alaska Native demographic and patient care information.  Mainly provides reports with statistical tables and charts discussing health trends and regional differences.

Office of Minority Health

Minority Population Profiles
Statistics are accessible by minority group or health topic. 

Office on Women's Health

Quick Health Data Online
Create custom tables at the state and county level using health indicators related to demographics, mortality, natality, reproductive health, violence, prevention, disease and mental health.  View the Women's Health and Mortality Chartbook, which provides state profiles of women's health, and the Health Disparities Profile which also gives state level indicators.

Inter-University Consortium on Political and Social Research

Minority Data Resource Center
Access to data sets for secondary analysis, some with options for online analysis.

Kaiser Family Foundation

Disparity Policy
Collection of reports and fact sheets, many with statistical information and with a focus on policy and health care coverage.

Women's Health Care Policy
Collection of reports and fact sheets, many with statistical information.

Women's Health Data Book: A Profile of Women's Health in the United States
"This book addresses social and economic factors and provides up-to-date information on chronic conditions, reproductive health, mental health, violence, health behaviors, and access to and quality of health services received by women. Information is included on disparities in health status and access to care among subgroups of women, highlighting the populations of women who are at greatest risk. Additional fact sheets highlighting key data from the book are also available."

National Longitudinal Survey of Mature and Young Women

The National Longitudinal Survey of Mature and Young Women includes 5,083 women who were ages 30-44 when first interviewed in 1967, while the Young Women’s cohort includes 5,159 women who were ages 14-24 when first interviewed in 1968. Data for both cohorts are available through 2003, when active surveying was discontinued.

Web Accessibility Assistance