Skip to main content

Finding Health Data and Statistics: Reproductive and Family Health

This guide provides websites and resources for finding data sets and statistics in the area of health and health care.

Pregnancy and Fertility

Census Bureau

Fertility of American Women
Reports from the Current Population Survey, Survey of Income and Program Participation, and the American Community Survey.

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

National Survey of Family Growth
This CDC survey gathers information on family life, marriage and divorce, pregnancy, infertility, use of contraception, and men's and women's health.  Includes relevant reports and publications, key statistics section for quick facts and tables, questionarres, datasets, and a bibliography of publications using survey data.

National Vital Statistics System - Birth Data
Publications, reports and dataset information from the federal collection program.
Please go to the Vital Statistics tab of this research guide for additional resources.

Reproductive Health - Data and Statistics
This page provides a comprehensive list of links to relevant CDC resources such as the Interactive Atlas of Reproductive Health and the Pregnancy Risk Assessment Monitoring System.  Topical links are available to issues such as abortion, maternal health, tobacoo use, and more.

The Guttmacher Institute

Guttmacher Institute
A public policy institute for sexual and reproductive health in the U.S. and worldwide.  Reports are available on pregnancy and other related topics.  Also includes a custom tablemaker and state reports.

March of Dimes

Peristats
Provides graphs, maps, quick stats and state summaries of maternal and infance health indicators.  Some county and city data available.

The National Campaign to Prevent Teen and Unplanned Pregnancy

The National Campaign to Prevent Teen and Unplanned Pregnancy includes national and state-level data.  Information on pregnancy, births, sexual activity, costs, public opinion polls, and the DRC Report on Unplanned Pregnancy.

Marriage and Divorce

US Census Bureau

American’s Families and Living Arrangements provides information on marriages. Formerly Marital Status and Living Arrangements.

The Fragile Families and Child Well-Being Study

The Fragile Families and Child Well-Being Study is following a cohort of nearly 5,000 children born in large U.S. cities between 1998 and 2000 (roughly three-quarters of whom were born to unmarried parents). "Fragile families" are families of unmarried parents and their children at greater risk of breaking up and living in poverty than more traditional families. A joint effort by Princeton and Columbia Universities.