Skip to main content

Middle Eastern & North African Cinema & Film: Reference & Backgound Resources

A subject guide providing selected resources and other aggregated information for researching and studying Middle Eastern & North African Cinema & Film

Search & Browse

Need to find a book, journal articles, films or more (either a particular title or on a topic) at Cornell and beyond? Search the Library Discovery Tool . Search most Cornell resources at once using the main search box (or search or browse specific resources more directly using the links under the box). Catalog Articles & Full Text Databases E-Journal TitlesImages.  Quick Links Catalog: Motion Pictures,  Middle East * Cinema, Middle East Arabic film  [or Turkish / Persian / Iranian / Israeli ...] * Motion Pictures, Islam.

Strategies for Finding Film Reviews and Critical Analysis

Cinema Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

[PDF] Historical Dictionary of Middle Eastern Cinema Terri Ginsberg & Chris Lippard.With contributions by: Farshad Aminian, Savaş Arslan, Sandra G. Carter, Anne Ciecko, Gayatri Devi, Iman Hamam,Helga Tawil-Souri, Mark R. Westmoreland. Historical Dictionaries of Literature and the Arts, No. 36.

For More Titles: Arab Filmmakers * Arab Cinema * Israeli Filmmakers 

Cinema & Film Databases

El Cinema Movie Database (Arabic) Archiving info Arab cinema = elCinema.com موقع السينما العربية و المصرية : أكبر قاعدة بيانات الأفلام والمسلسلات

Israeli Film Database (The Israel Film Center at JCC Manhattan)

IMDb: Top Ten Middle Eastern Films

IMDB: Internet Movie Database Detailed information on film industry, film plots, reviews, and credits. A great source for quick information on films, directors and actors. Information retrieved here should be confirmed with a second source.

Films Media Group - World Cinema The collection shines a light on the history of cinema while also providing a glimpse into the cultures and issues of countries around the world, making it useful beyond film studies departments by bringing value to programs in area studies, political science, history, world languages, and more.

The Ellen-Fairbanks D. Bodman Collection of Middle Eastern and Islamic World Films @ UNC Over 500 films and willing to lend to other academic institutions with two week notice. Please contact your librarian to arrange such a loan.

Middle Eastern Film Posters Digitization Initiative Princeton University Library’s Arabic Movie Posters and Lobby Cards Collection was acquired in Lebanon in 2008 and is comprised of 1,748 posters and 768 lobby cards.

Kino Lorber EDU titles in Jewish Cinema and Culture

Kino Lorber EDU [middle-eastern-studies] brings together the libraries of Kino Classics, Kino Lorber, and Alive Mind Cinema to deliver world-class cinema to students and educators alike.

Suggested Reading (s)

Hanan al-cinema : affections for the moving image / Marks, Laura U., 1963- 2015 Cambridge, Massachusetts : The MIT Press, [2015] Olin Library PN1993.5.A65 M37 2015

‎‫‏قضايا المواطنة بين المسلمين والمسيحين في الفيلم السينمائي وتأثير الرقابة الدينية‏‬‎ / Qaḍāyā al-muwāṭanah bayna al-Muslimīn wa-al-Masīḥīyīn fī al-fīlm al-sīnimāʼī wa-taʼthīr al-raqābah al-dīnīyah. [Motion pictures; citizenship; Christianity and other religions; Islam; Egypt; history and criticism.]

الهوية القومية في السينما العربية al-Huwīyah al-qawmīyah fī al-sīnimā al-ʻArabīyah / Kamāl Ramzī [and others] ; ishrāf ʻAbd al-Munʻim Tallīmah. -- Bayrūt, Lubnān : Markaz Dirāsāt al-Waḥdah al-ʻArabīyah : Jāmiʻat al-Umam al-Mutaḥḥidah, 1986. [تحميل كتاب الهوية القومية في السينما العربية pdf ]

The Education of the Filmmaker in Africa, the Middle East, and the Americas /edited by M. Hjort. 2013 Palgrave Macmillan US -(Global Cinema):  9781137032683

Alia Arasoughly (ed.), Screens of Life: Critical Film Writing from the Arab World (Quebec: World Heritage Press, 1996). [Translation of essays originally written by historians and scholars from 8 Arab countries.]

Walter Armbrust, Mass Culture and Modernism in Egypt (Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 1996).

Walter Armbrust (ed.), Mass Mediations: New Approaches to Popular Culture in the Middle East and Beyond (Berkeley: University of California Press, 2000).

Roy Armes, African Filmmaking North and South of the Sahara (Edinburgh: Edinburgh University Press, 2006).

Roy Armes, Postcolonial Images: Studies in North African Film (Bloomington/Indianapolis: Indiana University Press (2005).

Savaş Arslan, Cinema in Turkey: a New Critical History (Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2011), 237-73.

Hamid Dabashi (ed.), Dreams of a Nation: on Palestinian Cinema (London/New York: Verso, 2006).

Gönül Dönmez-Colin (ed.), The Cinema of North Africa and the Middle East (London: Wallflower Press, 2007),

Gönül Dönmez-Colin, Cinemas of the Other: A Personal Journey with Film-makers from the Middle East and Central Asia (Bristol: Intellect, 2006),

Gönül Dönmez-Colin, Turkish Cinema: Identity, Distance and Belonging (London: Reaktion Books, 2008).

Nurit Gertz and George Khleifi, Palestinian Cinema: Landscape, Trauma and Memory (Edinburgh: Edinburgh University Press, 2008).

Joel Gordon, Revolutionary Melodrama: Popular Film and Civic Identity in Nasser’s Egypt (Chicago: Middle East Documentation Center, 2002).

Catherine Grant and Annette Kuhn (eds.), Screening World Cinema: a Screen Reader (Abingdon: Routledge, 2006).

Rebecca Hillauer, Encyclopedia of Arab Women Filmmakers (Cairo: American University in Cairo Press, 2005).

Oliver Leaman, Companion Encyclopedia of Middle Eastern and North African Film (London/New York: Routledge, 2001).

Yosefa Loshitzky, Identity Politics on the Israeli Screen (Austin: University of Texas Press, 2001).

Lizbeth Malkmus and Roy Armes, Arab & African Film Making (Zed: London, 1991).

Georges Sadoul (ed.), Cinema in the Arab Countries (Beirut, 1966).

Hamid Reza Sadr, Iranian Cinema: a Political History (London: I.B. Tauris, 2006).

Rasha Salti (ed.), Insights into Syrian Cinema: Essays and Conversations with Contemporary Filmmakers (New York: ArteEast, 2006)

Viola Shafik, Arab Cinema: History and Cultural Identity (Cairo/New York: American University in Cairo Press, 1988).

Viola Shafik, Popular Egyptian Cinema: Gender, Class, and Nation (Cairo/New York: American University in Cairo Press, 2007).

Ella Shohat, Israeli Cinema: East/West and the Politics of Representation (Austin: Univ. of Texas Press, 1989).

Miri Talmon and Yaron Peleg (eds.), Israeli Cinema: Identities in Motion (Austin: University of Texas Press, 2011),

Richard Tapper (ed.), The New Iranian Cinema (London: I.B. Tauris, 2001).

Saeed Zeydabadi-Nejad, The Politics of Iranian Cinema: Film and Society in the Islamic Republic, (London: Routledge, 2010).

. Dissonant archives : contemporary visual culture and contested narratives in the Middle East 2015. Book London : New York : I.B. Tauris, 2015. English Olin Library N7265.3 .D5 2015

For More Titles: Middle East Cinema * Arab Filmmakers * Arab Cinema Cinema Arab Countries. * Women. Islam.  cinema

Littérature et Cinémas arabes dAhmed Bedjaoui et Michel SerceauLittérature et cinémas arabes / Ahmed Bedjaoui, Michel Serceau ; ouvrage collectif sous la direction de Ahmed Bedjaoui et de Michel Serceau ; avec la participation de: Salma Mobarak, Abdelkrim Gabous, Moulay Driss Jaïdi, Walid Littérature PARTI2El Khachab.  Alger : Chihab Éditions [2016] @ --> Olin Library.

Cinema Guides, Directories & Indexes

Med-Screen launches online Arab Cinema Directory   The Arab Cinema Directory, [www.acdir.net], a film directory aimed at enhancing the visibility of films from the eight Arab MEDA countries. This comprehensive website, presenting extensive information about Mediterranean Arab film productions of all genres and formats, is of great interest to professionals and film buffs researching Arab films produced since the 1930s.

FIAF international Filmarchive Database  - [MIDDLE EAST] -FIAF International Film Archive database is an acclaimed international compendium of information on film and television from International Federation of Film Archives (FIAF). The database contains: International index to film periodicals, 1972- ; International index to television periodicals, 1979- ; List of periodicals indexed; Treasures from the film archives; International directory of film and TV documentation collections; and Bibliography of FIAF members' publications. Indexes 340 of the world's academic & popular film journals. 

Arab cinema guide. Dalīl al-sīnimā al-ʻArabīyah / Samīr Farīd. Arabic and English. [Annual: Cairo, Egypt] [HathiTrust Digital Library Limited view (search only)]

Egyptian Film Industry Production and Distribution Companies

ARab Cinema by Nikhita Allam on Prezi  Beginnings of Cinema in the Region.  But... Pre-Independence was important too!!

The Middle East's Media Cities and the Global Film Industry  [The Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania]

UNI: ArabFilmTVSchool

Film Index International Reviews, criticism, full film credits & biographical information [proquest.libguides.com/fii]

Arab Cinema = Sinima al-Arab [Disk PN 1993.5 .A65 S56;1996--1 CD-ROM].  An Arabic-language guide to the modern Arab film. Includes sound and video clips.

 هذا المساء، السينما في لبنان، 1929-Image result for ‫هذا المساء، السينما في لبنان، 1929-1979‬‎1979 Tonight, cinema in Lebanon, 1929-1979 / Abboudi Abou Jaoude.

"هذا المساء – السينما في لبنان 1929 - 1979" - النهار

STATISTICS * Film - Going to the Cinema · Media Use in the Middle East [A six-nation survey by Northwestern University in Qatar in partnership with Doha Film Institute. Over 6,000 in-person interviews. Qatar, Egypt, Lebanon, Tunisia, United Arab Emirates, and Saudi Arabia]

Cinema & Film Reviews

MRQE / Middle East MRQE.com [– the Movie Review Query Engine] – the Movie Review Query Engine, founded in 1993 by Stewart M. Clamen, is the Internet’s largest database of movie reviews for over 100,000 titles.
Film International: This online equivalent of the print journal features both original articles and selections from the print text.  Topics range from film analyses and reviews to research pieces on directors as well as national cinema

Select Bibliographies & Filmographies

Middle East Cinema A Videography/Filmography [CORNELL]

The Ellen-Fairbanks D. Bodman Collection of Middle Eastern and Islamic World Films @ UNC Over 500 films and willing to lend to other academic institutions with two week notice. Please contact your librarian to arrange such a loan.

Middle Eastern Studies videography [University of California, Berkeley.]

Middle Eastern film (incl. North Africa) [University of California, Berkeley.]

IMDb: Top Ten Middle Eastern Films

List of Documentary Films on the Arab World  (Provided by Georgetown U. based on their extensive holdings. Can be a useful guide to what is out there)

Arabic Language Motion Pictures * Feature Films | Documentary Films

Select Bibliography on ME cinema Based on Duke University holdings, primarily monographs in Western languages.

Bibliography of books about Middle Eastern cinema in the UC Berkeley library

Movies About the Middle East - Helen Ziegler and Associates

Film literature Index The Film Literature Index (FLI) annually indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover and 200 other periodicals selectively for articles on film and television. The periodicals range from the scholarly to the popular. More than 2,000 subject headings provide detailed analysis of the articles. The FLI Online contains approximately 700,000 citations to articles, film reviews and book reviews published between 1976-2001. You can search the citations or browse by subject headings, browse by person names, browse by production titles, or browse by corporate names.

Josef Gugler (ed.) Film in the Middle East and North Africa: Creative Dissidence, University of Texas Press and American University in Cairo Press, 2011, ISBN 978-0-292-72327-6, ISBN 978-9-774-16424-8

Josef Gugler (ed.) Ten Arab Filmmakers: Political Dissent and Social Critique, Indiana University Press, 2015, ISBN 978-0-253-01652-2

Rebecca Hillauer: Encyclopedia of Arab Women Filmmakers, American University in Cairo Press, 2005, ISBN 978-9-774-24943-3

Laura U. Marks: Hanan al-Cinema: Affections for the Moving Image, MIT Press 2015, ISBN 978-0262029308

Viola Shafik: Arab Cinema: History and Cultural Identity, American University in Cairo Press, revised and updated 2015, ISBN 978-9-774-16690-7

"Evil" Arabs in American popular film The exorcist : assault on American confidence (1973) Rollover : assault on the American economy (1981) Black Sunday: the loss of frontier heroism (1976) hree kings : assault on victory culture (1999) Rules of engagement : attack from the multicultural front (2000) CNN's America remembers : the "real" attack (2002) The South Park lesson and orientalist fear.

Lawrence of Arabia : a film's anthropology

Filming the Modern Middle East: Politics in the Cinemas of Hollywood and the Arab World

Epic encounters : culture, media, and U.S. interests in the Middle East, 1945-2000

zoomDu musée au cinéma Narrations de guerres au Moyen-Orient : mythologies politiques et identitaires dans les conflits du Moyen-Orient à l'heure de la mondialisation / Thomas Richard ; avant-propos, Frédéric Charillon, professeur des universités. Clermont-Ferrand : École de droit, université d'Auvergne ; ǂa [Issy-les-Moulineaux] : LGDJ-Lextenso éditions,  [2016?] "Prix de thèse Michel de l'Hospital, 2014." Based on the author's thesis (doctoral)--Université d'Auvergne, 2014.

Cinema & Film News

Arab Film News -Arab Film News Digest – breaking news about the Arab film industry & Arab cinema

Arab Film News Digest is a new Flipboard magazine for iPad or Android, updated daily. Read the latest news about movies from and about the Arab world, Arabic cinema, documentaries, Arab movie directors, actors, film production in the Middle East and North Africa and other Arab film industry news.

Arab cinema: Your daily dose of Arab cinema

Prize Winning Films

"Ali's Film" wins Gold Medal at 26th International Visual Communications

Spotlights

LGBT film gets warm welcome at Tunisia festival

Nov 10, 2017 - The room of 500 seats was not big enough to fit all those who flocked to see "Upon the shadow", an intimate -- at times explicit -- portrait of a group of ... When she started filming the documentary in Sidi Bousaid outside Tunis in 2016, director Nada Mezni Hafaiedh had not planned to show it in Tunisia.



Flash - LGBT film gets warm welcome at Tunisia festival

 

 

 

 

Arab women taking film industry by storm - Al Arabiya [Nov 25, 2012]

Border Crossings: the New Middle Eastern Cinema [The Chronicle of Higher Education Nov 25, 2005]

The Politics of Art: Middle Eastern Women in Fiction and Film  [www.themillions.com/.Jan 5, 2012]

Co-Producing the Memory. Cinema Production between Europe and the Middle East / Irit Neidhardt.  Global Media JournalGerman Edition. Vol. 1, No.1, Spring2011.

Cinema & Film Journals & Magazines

MLA International Bibliography The premier scholarly bibliography; indexes journal articles, books and dissertations from all over the world. Coverage includes literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, film, etc.  Online coverage back to 1926. Includes books, articles in books, and journal articles. Does not index book reviews.

Image result for ‫مجله السينما والناس‬‎مجله السينما والناس  al-Sīnimā wa-al-nās. el Cinema wal nas.[HathiTrust Digital Library, Limited view (search only) Limited (search-only)] ، القاهرة  الجمعية المصرية لفن السينما al-sanah 1.- Yanāyir 1979-

 

 

مجلة السينما العربية العددان الثالث والرابع (صيف - خريف 2015) (السعر: 5$) سينما العربية

(Beirut, Lebanon) Arab cinema = Sīnimā al-ʻArabīyah / مركز دراسات الوحدة العربية. Quarterly al-Sanah 1., al-ʻadad 1. (shitāʼ 2015)- "Qaḍāyā al-sīnimā fī al-waṭan al-ʻArabī wa-qaḍāyā al-waṭan al-ʻArabī fī al-sīnimā."

 

 Image result for ‫مجلة الفيلم‬‎-مجلة الفيلم --Majallat al-fīlm----- القاهرة : جمعية النهضة العلمية والثقافية، نادي سينما الجزويت

Mar'a "A magazine dedicated to Mideastern cinema."  New York :  Cineaste, 1979- Vol. 1, no. 1 (spring 1979)-

Arab Shorts Journal - Goethe-Institut 'Arab Shorts' is an initiative of the Goethe-Institut to support the visual arts in North Africa and the Middle East. Addressing the independent film and media arts.

عين على السينما:  مجلة سينمائية الكترونية شاملة

Eye on Cinema / published by New Horizon [London, UK]

Sīnimā (Paris, France) [Sīnimā = Cinéma] Began in 2000. Monthly. Paris : Darwish Presse.

Fann al-sīnimā. Chicago, IL : Middle East Documentation Center, ǂc 1998. Began in 1933; ceased in 1934? Hasan 'Abd al-Wahhab (Jama'at al-Naqqad al-Sinima'iyin), 1933-1934.

al-Ḥayāh al-sīnimāʼīyah. Cinema life. [Quarterly] -ʻAdad 8. (Yanāyir 1981);  Dimashq : Wizārat al-Thaqāfah wa-al-Irshād al-Qawmī, al-Muʼassasah al-ʻĀmmah lil-Sīnimā

Centre interarabe du cinema et de la television informations.  Arab Film and Television Centre news. Beirut, Lebanon. Text in French. Title page in French, Arabic and English. [1970s]

Filmfare Middle East / Filmfare ME. Dubai : Saffron Media & Entertainment. [Monthly] "Catering predominantly to the the large Asian expatriate population in the UAE and the GCC, as well as a significant Arab population."

FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Plus. [MIDDLE East] Indexes 340 of the world's academic & popular film journals.

مجلة السينما | السينما العالمية باللغة العربية ** آخر الأخبار ونقد الأفلام والتقارير والصور والفيديوهات السينمائية من حول العالم

Variety Arabia's [Variety العربية] Variety al-ʻArabīyah / London :  Middle East Media and Pubishing LLC FZ [Monthly] Variety Arabia

 

Middle East journal of culture and communication Leiden, Netherlands ; Boston : Brill. Began with v. 1, no. 1 (2008).

 

 

Sound & Stage Middle East (English) Sound & Stage Middle East delivers industry news, technical insights, trend education, product news, and business advice for Audio and Visual professionals in the Middle East. It also provides a monthly round-up of the latest developments impacting the professional audio-visual, lighting design and live staging production industries.

Film International: This online equivalent of the print journal features both original articles and selections from the print text.  Topics range from film analyses and reviews to research pieces on directors as well as national cinemas.

Senses of Cinema : "An online journal devoted to the serious and eclectic discussion of cinema," the site offers extensive and well-documented information on films and filmmakers from around the world.  Note the interview section, the research article section, and the reviews of recent books related to film and film studies. 

Adaptation  An international forum focused on literature on screen.

Cineaste Includes articles, interviews, film, DVD and books about film reviews.

Filmakers Library Online Documentaries from diverse cultures world-wide.

FMG Master Academic Collection  Full length documentaries

Framework: The Journal of Cinema and Media International journal

Wide Angle Taking an in-depth look at international film.

Historical Journal of Film, Radio & Television Journal of the International Association for Media and History.

Steven Spielberg Jewish Film Archive. [Scroll on activities, news]

Film Festivals * Prizes

World of Women Film Fair Middle East What is WOW Middle East? WORLD OF WOMEN'S CINEMA: Presented by Straight Street Media, UAE The World of Women's Cinema - WOW Film Fair Middle East is the first women's short film fair that promotes and awards the talents of women directors, producers, writers, editors and cinematographers in the film industry.


A Look At Arab Film Festivals Original article by Debra Kamin published in the Variety on 08/31/2014

The Arab Film Institute, is an Arab Non Profit Cultural Association based in Dubai, U.A.E. it is the place where Arab Films’ past, present and future is discussed, imagined, celebrated by those who make Arab Cinema.

Arab Film Awards | AFI The Arab Film Awards are created to honor the work of the community once a year as part of the Institute's activities. The Awards are the annual showcase of Arab Cinema and a very important platform to promote Arab culture globally.


  • Beirut Cinema Days is a biennial film festival organized by Beirut DC since 2001. Over the years, the Beirut Cinema Days festival has established itself as an important showcase for independent Arab films by increasing dialogue between cultures and civilizations. The festival includes a selection of features, documentaries, student films, animation and experimental films as well as several off-festival events; training sessions, master classes with Arab and foreign experts, platforms, presentations and retrospectives.
  • The International Film Festival of Marrakech (FIFM) is an international film festival held annually in Marrakech, Morocco. Since its inaugural year in 2000, the FIFM has been one of the biggest events devoted to Moroccan cinema. It is also the site of the principal photography of many international productions. The festival's jury gathers international writers, actors and personalities, and endeavors to reward the best Moroccan and foreign feature and short films.
  • The Dubai International Film Festival (DIFF) is an international film festival based in Dubai, United Arab Emirates. Launched in 2004, it aims to foster the growth of filmmaking in the Arab world. It is a not-for-profit cultural event, presented and organised by the Dubai Technology, Electronic Commerce and Media Free Zone Authority. The DIFF presents cinematic excellence from around the world and offers a high-profile platform for aspiring home-grown talent.
  • The Muhr Award for Excellence in Arab Cinema was launched in 2006, with the aim of recognizing Arab filmmakers both regionally and internationally. In 2008, the Muhr Awards for Excellence were expanded to include two separate competitions, the Arab Muhr Award, and the AsiaAfrica Muhr Award. It also introduced a new program segment dedicated exclusively to Animation.
  • The Abu Dhabi Film Festival (ADFF)  Created in 2007, the ceremony is held annually in October in Abu Dhabi, UAE by the Abu Dhabi Authority for Culture and Heritage (ADACH)ز زThe ADFF aims to encourage and foster the growth of filmmaking in the Arab world by showcasing movies from the region alongside standout productions from prominent international filmmakers. The first festival debuted with 152 movies and 186 screenings shown in five Abu Dhabi venues. A total of 76 feature films and 34 short films from over 35 countries competed for the Black Pearl Awards. [ | DIFF (Dubai, UAE; est.2004) | Abu DabiFF (UAE; est.2006) ]
  • The Doha Tribeca Film Festival (DTFF) is an annual five-day film festival founded in 2009 to promote Arab and international film, and to develop a sustainable film industry in Qatar. The Festival is one of Qatar's largest entertainment events attracting over 50,000 guests in 2010.
  • Zenith Arab Film Festival (UK)
  • Arab film festival (Australia)

Annual Arab Film Festival in San Francisco 

Discover Arab Cinema @ BFI Zenith Foundation Discover Arab Cinema provides a dedicated platform for contemporary films and classics

Prize Winning Films

Web Accessibility Assistance