More Hospitality Industry Guides
Trends and Statistics
- Mintel AcademicIncludes analyses of major financial conditions and trends affecting the wine industry, such as market size and forecast, market drivers, competitive context, segment performance, domestic and imported, retail channels, companies and brands, innovations and innovators, marketing strategies and more. Includes profiles of major wine companies. Includes several relevant reports, such as Wine (US), Wine Tourism in North America, Wine (UK), Champagne and Sparkling Wine (UK), and Still, Sparkling & Fortified Wine (UK).
- Business Insights, EssentialsProvides a wide range of business information resources, including company and industry reports, statistics, financial ratios, fundamentals, investment information, and market reports. Search for Wine and select Market Share Reports. Sample titles include Top Wine Makers Worldwide, Wine Production By State, Top Table Wine Brands, and Top Wineries.
- Business Source CompleteBusiness Source Complete provides full text for scholarly business journals and other article sources. Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business. . It also includes industry and country reports from Euromonitor and company and industry reports from Datamonitor. Wine Industry Profiles for individual countries from Datamonitor. Search for "wine industry profile". For every wine-producing country in the world, these reports identify market size, analyze the competitive landscape, and forecast market performance.
- PassportExcellent resource for international industries, countries, markets, and products. Market research reports, statistics, and analyst reports cover consumer market sizes, country market data, forecasts, consumer lifestyles, companies and brands, and many product & location specific reports are related to wines and wineries.
- The Wine InstituteProvides extensive consumption and production data for California, and limited consumption and production data worldwide. Also provides detailed information on state shipping laws.
- Wine Statistical InformationFrom the US Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau. The TTB.gov wine site includes a "Wine Statistics" page with links to monthly detailed reports on U.S. wine production data for different kinds of wine products.
- Final Grape Crush ReportCalifornia Department of Food and Agriculture. Annual report of the size of the annual California grape crush by region and grape variety.
- 2015 California & US Wine SalesFrom The Wine Institute,the public policy advocacy association of California wineries. Wine Institute brings together the resources of 1,000 wineries and affiliated businesses to support legislative and regulatory advocacy, international market development, media relations, scientific research, and education programs that benefit the entire California wine industry.
- StatistaStatista provides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries. Data on wine production, consumption, sales and consumer preferences.
Statistics: Print Resources
- The U.S. Wine Market. 2012. Profiles the performance of the U.S. wine market. Reports wine consumption by type and origin; wine volume consumption by state; brand data and analysis; wine retail expenditures; wine advertising expenditures; wine consumer demographics; and wine market trends.
- National Agricultural Statistics Survey: California Grapes. 2012. California Grape Acreage. California Crop and Livestock Reporting Service. Reports annual grape acreage in California by type of grape and by location, from 1991 through 2012.
- The Business of Wine byCall Number: Geneva: HD9370.5 .B87 2008ISBN: 9788763002011Publication Date: 2008The book provides substantive insight into the structure and economics of the industry as well as into the various trends and pressures which are currently affecting it. Wine lovers can go to a bookstore and find a myriad of guides to the wines of the world, however these volumes leave many gaps. The Business of Wine provides a global overview of wine as a business. Concise overview of the business side of the global wine industry which includes distribution, marketing, and competition. Includes numerous statistics such as production, consumer consumption, and land under vine cultivation.