Need More Help?
More Hospitality Industry Guides
The librarians at the Nestlé Library have organized an extensive collection of wine resources. Many of the books are located in the ILR Library so click the catalog record link for location information. You can search for additional books in the library catalog.
- The Oxford Companion to Wine byCall Number: EbookPublication Date: 2015Presents almost 4,000 entries on wine-related topics, from regions and grape varieties to the owners, connoisseurs, growers, and tasters in wine through the ages; from viticulture and oenology to the history of wine. Incorporates topics ranging from globalization and the politics of wine to brands, precision viticulture, and co-fermentation.
- Who's buying alcoholic and nonalcoholic beverages byCall Number: ILR HD9348.U5 W46Publication Date: 2015Published annually and based on data from the Bureau of Labor Statistics' Consumer Expenditure Survey.
- Wine Science (Ebook) byCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2014Wine Science has proven to be an extensive account of the three central tenets of wine science: grape cultivation, wine production, and wine assessment. *Expanded coverage of micro-oxidation and the cool prefermentative maceration of red grapes *The nature of the weak fixation of aromatic compounds in wine - and the significance of their release upon bottle opening *New insights into flavor modification post bottle *Shelf-life of wine as part of wine aging *Winery wastewater management Updated topics including: *Precision viticulture, including GPS potentialities *Organic matter in soil *Grapevine pests and disease *History of wine production technology
- Beverage Basics byCall Number: ILR: TP505 .S63 2011Publication Date: 2011An all-inclusive guide to wine, beer, and spirits For professionals and amateurs alike, Beverage Basics provides a thorough and accessible education in the fundamentals. Beverage Basics covers the art and science of winemaking from the vineyard to the table, takes a comprehensive look at the production methods, styles, and ideal food pairings for beer and spirits, and even covers the often-overlooked issues of health and the law.
- The Wine, Beer, and Spirits Handbook byCall Number: ILR Library TP548 .L37 2010Publication Date: 2009The Wine, Beer, and Spirits Handbook demystifies the wine and wine-making process, examining not only the making and flavor profiles of wine, beer, and spirits, but also the business of wine service as practiced by a chef or sommelier. Unique to this book, is the strong emphasis on food and wine pairings, as well as food and beverage interactions. More importantly, The Handbook explains the responsibilities of a sommelier from both service and managerial perspectives.
- Exploring Wine byCall Number: Geneva: TP548 .K578 2010Publication Date: 2010This invaluable guide thoroughly demystifies wine, from the basics of wine production to the nuances of wine lists, wine marketing, and wine service. Features more comprehensive coverage of the wine regions of the world, grape varietals, winemaking, purchasing, tasting, service, and pairing. Packed with the most comprehensive, up-to-date information on wines of the world from the top professionals in the field Includes more tasting notes for each region, updated information on the health effects of wine, and an expanded food and wine pairing section .
- The Business of Wine byCall Number: Geneva: HD9370.5 .B87 2008Publication Date: 2008The book provides substantive insight into the structure and economics of the industry as well as into the various trends and pressures which are currently affecting it. Wine lovers can go to a bookstore and find a myriad of guides to the wines of the world, however these volumes leave many gaps. The Business of Wine provides a global overview of wine as a business.
- Wine by Design byCall Number: ILR: NA6420 .S73 2010Publication Date: 2010Wine tourism is experiencing exponential growth and the pressure is now on wine producers to commission the best architects to create appealing spaces that will celebrate and promote the culture of wine. Wine by Design introduces the most exciting new designs and covers the newest trends from celebrity wineries to the new links with spa therapies and hospitality, to new green, sustainable initiatives.
- WineWise byCall Number: ILR: TP548 .K5785 2008Publication Date: 2008Gives readers a basic introduction to wine: how to select different varieties and identify their flavors, how to read wine labels, and how to identify grapes from wine-growing regions all over the world. Chapters include Enjoying Wine, White Grapes, Red Grapes, Living with Wine, Wine and Food, and Wine in Restaurants, as well as chapters on wine-growing regions from France, Italy, and Germany to California and New York State to South America, Australia, Spain, and Portugal. Detailed information on grapes, flavor profiles, regions, and food and wine pairings.
- Sothebys Wine Encyclopedia 4th Edition Revised byCall Number: ILR: TP548 .S724 2011Publication Date: 2011The essential insider's guide to every major wine-growing region in the world, this book offers dozens of helpful Top 10 lists covering a broad range of topics, including Best-Value Producers, Greatest-Quality Wines, and Most Exciting or Unusual Finds. The book is a must for every wine serious enthusiast who wants to keep up with the constantly changing and ever-expanding world of wine.
- Wine Quality: Tasting and Selecting byCall Number: EbookPublication Date: 2009This book provides a concise, easy to use and clearly presented understanding of the techniques of wine tasting, quality assessment and evaluation. The reader is taken through the various stages of a structured and professional approach to tasting and the book examines the questions as to what constitutes quality in wines, how quality can be recognized and how it is achieved. Also discussed are the faults that can destroy wines at any quality level, and misconceptions as to quality and guarantees.
- The Complete, Easy-to-Use Reference on Recent Vintages, Prices, and Ratings byCall Number: ILR: TP548 .P287 2008Publication Date: 2008Understanding that buyers on every level appreciate a good deal, Parker separates overvalued bottles from undervalued, with wine prices instantly shifting according to his evaluations. Indifferent to the wine's pedigree, Parker's eminent 100-point rating system allows for independent, consumer-oriented, inside information.
- Wine Marketing and Sales byCall Number: HD9375 .W34 2010Publication Date: 2011Puts the vast bank of wine marketing knowledge within reach of industry novices, and fresh, practical and powerful strategies into the hands of veteran brand managers and marketing professionals, with 100 pages of new and expanded material in such topics as importing and exporting, logistical management, marketing your tasting room and wine region as a prime tourist destination, how to generate greater retail sales, and more.
- The Grapes of Wine: the Fine Art of Growing Grapes an Making Wine byCall Number: ILR: TP548 .N43 2009The book first looks at the activities of growing grapes and making wine. Included are chapters on investing in wines, storing and serving wines, matching wines with foods, reading wine labels, and even the health benefits of wine. Whether you are a wine expert or simply someone who enjoys an occasional glass of wine with your meals, The Grapes of Wine is as mesmerizing as a glass of the finest Cabernet Sauvignon.
- The Business of Wine byCall Number: ILR: HD9370.5 .B868 2009Publication Date: 2008More than 140 entries illuminate the regions, grapes, history, wine styles, business elements, events, people, companies, issues, and more that are crucial to the wine industry. This A-Z encyclopedia shows how production, distribution, and sales segments work together to bring wine to the public and describes the trade in wine and its related subsidiary elements.
- Food and Wine Tourism byCall Number: ILR: G155.A1 C74516 2010Publication Date: 2010This text explores how food-producing regions present themselves to tourists experiencing the culture, history and ambience of a location through the food and wine it produces. The book takes a practical approach, discussing how to establish a food-related tourism destination. It also covers management practices such as producing marketing material, and considerations of sustainability and quality assessment.
- Wine and Tourism byCall Number: EbookISBN: 9783319188560The aim of this book is to show how wine tourism can be used as a model for sustainable economic development, driving economic growth and social development in some locations. It will explore the interaction between tourism and viticulture in wine tourism destinations, while also explaining some of the repercussions of these activities. This book covers various topics including regional development, environmental management, sustainable viticulture, quality management in wineries and wine tourism routes among others.
- Wine Economics byCall Number: EbookPublication Date: 2013The book proposes an overview of the research conducted to date in the field of wine economics. All of these contributions have in common the use of econometric techniques and mathematical formalization to describe the new challenges of this economic sector.
- Wine Positioning byCall Number: EbookPublication Date: 2015This book introduces readers to the concept and implementation of positioning techniques in the context of the wine industry. Featuring 30 case studies on brands and wine regions around the world - all based on the same principles - it presents a successful, cutting-edge strategy for the marketing of wine. In light of globalization, it introduces state-of-the-art wine positioning techniques.
- Wine Folly byCall Number: ILR TP548 .P793 2015ISBN: 9781592408993Publication Date: 2015An essential, hip guide to wine for the new generation of wine drinkers, from the creators of the award-wining site WineFolly.com.