Indexes/Bibliographies for Primary Sources
Special Collections at Cornell
Cover for the first issue of Hugo Gernsback's Amazing Stories, April 1926, by Frank R. Paul, illustrating Wells's In the Days of the Comet. Digital copies of this and many other early issues can be found at http://archive.org/
The Division of Rare & Manuscript Collections (RMC) in Kroch Library holds an archive of 76 science fiction magazine titles published from 1946 through 2006, including Analog, Magazine of Fantasy and Science Fiction, Astounding, Isaac Asimov's Science Fiction, Galaxy, Startling Stories, and others. The Finding Aid provides a list of issues.
RMC also has issues from the first four years (1926-1929) of Amazing Stories, the earliest U.S. fiction magazine devoted exclusively to SF, as well as a collection of materials related to Philip K. Dick's Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? Scholars of the fantastic will want to explore RMC's Witchcraft Collection.
Garrett P. Serviss, pioneering SF author,
Cornell Class of 1872 and writer of Edison's Conquest of Mars, an "unauthorized sequel" to Wells's The War of the Worlds, as well as several other SF novels.
Archival/Manuscript Collections In the Area
The Syracuse University Library's Manuscript Division holds extensive collections of SF/fantasy pulp magazines, publishers' files, and the personal papers of many important writers and editors, including Andre (Alice Mary) Norton, Frederik Pohl, Larry Niven, Robert Silverberg, Forrest J Ackerman, Hugo Gernsback, Kate Wilhelm, Anne McCaffrey, and Roger Zelazny. Finding aids for these collections are online.
The Ithaca College Library is home to the Rod Serling Archives, which includes original television scripts, screenplays, and Serling’s six Emmy Awards, as well as photos, films, and books from Serling's personal collection. The noted author and creator of The Twilight Zone was a central NY native.
Technicians working on the set miniatures for Fritz Lang's Metropolis (1927).