Core Reference Sources
- Encyclopedia of PhilosophyBorchet, Donald M., ed.
10 print vols. 2nd ed. Detroit: Macmillan Reference USA, 2006.
(Print version at Olin Ref B 51 .E56 2006 +)
Containing material from hundreds of highly distinguished contributors representing the world's top universities and institutions, the second edition has a truly global perspective. - The Oxford Companion to PhilosophyHonderish, Ted, ed.
2nd ed. New York: Oxford University Press, 2005.
(Print version at Olin Ref B 51 .O94 2005)
"Two hundred forty-nine contributors create the most authoritative and engaging philosophical reference work in English. It gives clear and reliable guidance to all areas of philosophy and to the ideas of all notable philosophers from antiquity to the present day. The scope of the volume is not limited to English-language philosophy: it surveys the foremost philosophy from all parts of the world. The book covers philosophical topics from animal souls, arthritis in the thigh, and brain in a vat to Zoroastrianism and vague objects. There are more than fifty extended entries of 3,000 words on the main areas of philosophy and the great philosophers." (Publisher). - The Oxford Dictionary of Philosophy3rd ed., revised. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2016.
(Print version of the 2nd ed. at Olin Ref B 41 .B53 2005)
This dictionary is meant to be a "resource for anyone interested in general intellectual movements." (Preface). It contains definitions to over 3000 philosophical terms and those from related disciplines (theology, physics, psychology, sociology) "where such terminology is heavily embedded in philosophical discussion." (Preface). It also includes historical philosophers and scientists whose work brought about major changes in philosophical thought. The definitions contain extensive cross-references. - Stanford Encyclopedia of PhilosophyCraig, Edward, ed.
Stanford University, 1997- .
(Online only)
"[E]ach entry is maintained and kept up-to-date by an expert or group of experts in the field. All entries and substantive updates are refereed by the members of a distinguished Editorial Board before they are made public. Consequently, our dynamic reference work maintains academic standards while evolving and adapting in response to new research. You can cite fixed editions that are created on a quarterly basis and stored in our Archives (every entry contains a link to its complete archival history, identifying the fixed edition the reader should cite). The Table of Contents lists entries that are published or assigned." (About the Standford Encyclopedia of Philosophy)
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy Online.
(print version: Olin Reference B 51 .R68 1998) The Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy consists of ten volumes of the world's most eminent philosophers writing for the needs of students and teachers of philosophy internationally. Over 2000 entries ranging from 500 to 15,000 words in length - thematic, biographical and national 10 volumes consisting of over 5 million words of text plus considerable bibliographic material.
- The Edinburgh Dictionary of Continental Philosophy byISBN: 9780748626236Publication Date: 2005-01-01The first ever dictionary of continental philosophy to be published.With over 450 clearly written definitions and articles by an international team of specialists, this authoritative dictionary covers the thinkers, topics and technical terms associated with the many fields known as 'continental' philosophy'.
- The International Encyclopedia of Ethics byISBN: 9781444367072Publication Date: 2013-02-15Unmatched in scholarship and scope, The International Encyclopedia of Ethics is the definitive single-source reference work on Ethics, available both in print and online. Comprises over 700 entries, ranging from 1000 to 10,000 words in length, written by an international cast of subject experts Is arranged across 9 fully cross-referenced volumes including a comprehensive index Provides clear definitions and explanations of all areas of ethics including the topics, movements, arguments, and key figures in Normative Ethics, Metaethics, and Practical Ethics Covers the major philosophical and religious traditions Offers an unprecedented level of authority, accuracy and balance with all entries being blind peer-reviewed
Additional Reference Sources in Philosophy
The Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy by Publication Date: 2015Comprehensive and up-to-date survey of ideas and thinkers written by an international team of 436 contributors. Includes the most comprehensive entries on major philosophers, 400 new entries including over 50 on pre-eminent contemporary philosophers, extensive coverage of rapidly developing fields such as the philosophy of mind and applied ethics, more entries on non-Western philosophy than any comparable volume, and increased coverage of Continental philosophy.
The Columbia History of Western Philosophy by Call Number: Olin Library Reference, B72 .P55x 1999 +Publication Date: 1999Origins of Western philosophic thinking; Medieval Islamic and Jewish philosophy; Medieval Christian philosophy; The Renaissance; Seventeenth-century philosophy; Eighteenth-century philosophy; Nineteenth-century philosophy; Twentieth-century analytic philosophy; Twentieth-century continental philosophy. Includes bibliographical references and index.
Diccionario de filosofía by Call Number: Olin Library, B45 .F37 1979Publication Date: 1979-19804 vols. 6th ed.
The Diccionario is a standard reference work throughout the Spanish-speaking world.
A Dictionary of Continental Philosophy by Call Number: Olin Library Reference, B 41 .D46 2006Publication Date: 2006Over 450 definitions and articles by an international team of specialists. Special care has been taken to explain complex ideas, methods, and figures.
A Dictionary of Philosophical Quotations by Publication Date: 1992(Olin Ref B 21 .D54 1992z)
Includes quotations from over 300 western philosophers.- Vocabulaire technique et critique de la philosophie by Call Number: Olin Library stacks, B49.L19 V8 1968Publication Date: 1968Set of very carefully selected quotations from the works of great classical and modern philosophers defining their usage, or interpretation, of philosophical terms.
- Directory of American Philosophers by Call Number: Latest edition in Olin Ref B 935 .D59; 1964/65 to next-to-latest edition in Olin Stacks B 935 .D59 +"[T]he most comprehensive source of information on philosophical activity in North America in either print or electronic formats." (Publisher).
The Edinburgh Encyclopedia of Continental Philosophy by Publication Date: 1999( Print version in Olin Stacks B 804 .E43x 1999 +)
"Provides extensive coverage of all the key thinkers, from Kant, Hegel, and Sartre, to Derrida and Baudrillard. Its scope is broad, ranging from Classical Idealism through Existentialism, Phenomenology, and Psychoanalysis, to Structuralism and Post Structuralism." (Publisher).- Enciclopedia filosofica, Firenze: G. C. Sansoni, 1968.Call Number: Olin Library stacks, B44 .E56 1968 +6 vols. 2nd ed., interamente rielaborata.
Handsome illustrated production. Includes Oriental philosophy and philosophers, with emphasis on western philosophy. 
Encyclopedia of Aesthetics by Publication Date: 1998The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics surveys the full breadth of critical thought on art, culture, and society--from classical philosophy to contemporary critical theory. It includes cross references, bibliographies, and an index.
Encyclopedia of Applied Ethics, New York: Oxford University Press by Call Number: Olin Library Reference, BH 56 .E53x 1998 +Publication Date: 1997The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics surveys the full breadth of critical thought on art, culture, and society--from classical philosophy to contemporary critical theory. It includes cross references, bibliographies, and an index.
Encyclopedia of Ethics by Call Number: Olin Library Reference, Oversize BJ63 .E45x 2001Publication Date: 2001The Encyclopedia of Ethics provides general, cross disciplinary scope, very theory based. Articles are signed with lists of references.
Encyclopedia of Environmental Ethics and PhilosophyPublication Date: 2008Print version: Mann Library, Call number: GE42 .E53 2009.
Articles address all aspects of environmenal ethics.
Encyclopedia of Classical Philosophy by Call Number: Olin Library, B 163 .E53x 1997Publication Date: 1997"The only encyclopedia in English specific to the field of Classical Philosophy, this work presents 270 articles on major and minor figures and on topics of importance to the philosophy of Greek and Roman antiquity." (Publisher).Greek philosophical terms a historical lexicon. by
Call Number: Olin Library Reference, B49 .P47; Also 2nd copy in Olin Stacks, B49 .P48Publication Date: 1967Greek philosophical terms, transliterated into English spelling, with notes on their use by writers from Homer to Proclus.- Historisches Wörterbuch der Philosophie. by Call Number: Olin Reference, B43 .H67 +Publication Date: 1971-2004.12 vols. Covers philosophy as well as selected terms and concepts in individual scientific disciplines.
Sage Encyclopedia of Criminal Psychology by ISBN: 1483392252Publication Date: 2019“…the aim of this encyclopedia [is] to take readers through the entire landscape of crime from the act, to the impact on victims (and society), to suspect identification and arrest, to legal adjudication, to sentencing, sanctioning, treatment and rehabilitation, and community reentry, and hopefully concluding with desistence from further crime—all from a psychological perspective. This resource is intended to inform and educate students, laypersons, clinicians, scholars, and policy makers alike….” [Introduction]- The Oxford encyclopedia of philosophy of education " by ISBN: 0190919736Publication Date: 2022This edited collection provides a comprehensive, global, invitational, and accessible overview of contemporary issues in the field of philosophy of education. It includes a wide range topics, ideas, and diverse perspectives from around the world. Each chapter is an in-depth exploration of a philosophic topic or issue relevant to teaching, education, pedagogy, and/or schooling.
