Reference Works Focused on Philosophers
Biographical Dictionary of Twentieth-Century Philosophers by Call Number: Olin Library Reference, B 104 .B46w 1996 +Publication Date: 1995"This substantial reference work provides detailed accounts of the lives, works, influences and receptions of the most important philosophers of the twentieth century. Over 1000 entries, covering philosophers from all over the world, offer detailed biographical and bibliographical information, and analytic accounts of the thought and critical reception of each figure." (Publisher).
Biographical Encyclopedia of Islamic Philosophy by Call Number: Olin Library Reference, B 741.B56 2006Publication Date: 2006"[A]n international group of authors has contributed clear, accessible entries written in non-technical language, and no previous understanding of either philosophy or religion is presupposed. The biographical entries include all the major thinkers of Islamic philosophy since the foundation of the faith, as well as minor but significant figures, many of which have not previously been profiled or described in English. Every major school of thought, from classical falasifa to Sufi mysticism, is represented, and entries range across time from the early years of the faith to the modern period." (Oxford University Press)
2006 CHOICE Outstanding Academic Title
A Companion to the Philosophers by Call Number: Olin Library Reference, + B72 .C595x 1999Publication Date: 1999Multicultural approach, covering; African philosophers; Chinese philosophers; European and American philosophers; Indian philosophers; Japanese philosophers; Islamic and Jewish philosophers. Includes bibliographical references and index.
Dictionary of Modern American Philosophers by Call Number: Olin LIbrary Reference, B 851 .D53 2005Publication Date: 20054 vols. Contains 1082 entries by over 500 authors, and provides an account of philosophical thought in the United States and Canada between 1860 and the present.
The Edinburgh Encyclopedia of Continental Philosophy by Call Number: Olin Library stacks, B 804 .E43x 1999 +Publication Date: 1999"Provides extensive coverage of all the key thinkers, from Kant, Hegel, and Sartre, to Derrida and Baudrillard. Its scope is broad, ranging from Classical Idealism through Existentialism, Phenomenology, and Psychoanalysis, to Structuralism and Post Structuralism." (Publisher).
Women Philosophers: A Bio-Critical Source Book by Call Number: Olin Library Reference, B 105 .W6 K4Publication Date: 1989Covers over 150 women philosophers from antiquity to 20th century women born mostly before 1920. It includes an appendix listing women philosophers by historical period, country, and discipline. An alphabetized name index is also available.
World Philosophers and Their Works by Call Number: Olin Library Reference, B 104 .W67x 2000 +Publication Date: 20003 vols. "[N]ot only covers Western philosophers from the Greeks, including Plato and Aristotle, through modern thinkers such as Paul M. Churchland, Martin Luther King, Jr., and Annette C. Baier but also examines philosophical standouts from Asian and African cultures." (Publisher).
The World's Great Philosophers by Call Number: Olin Library stacks, B 29 .W69x 2003Publication Date: 2003"Most of the essays contained in this book were originally published in A Companion to the Philosophers (Oxford: Blackwell, 1999). Several have been revised, and three ... are new." (Preface).
Malden, MA: Blackwell Publishers, 2003.
(Olin Stacks B 29 .W69x 2003)
"Most of the essays contained in this book were originally published in A Companion to the Philosophers (Oxford: Blackwell, 1999). Several have been revised, and three ... are new." (Preface).
See Table of Contents online.
