Geospatial Resources

World GIS Data & Maps

CGIAR-CSI Main Page

  • View maps and GIS data from the Consortium for Spatial Information.
  • Maps and Data Sets are in the context of agriculture and reducing poverty in developing countries.
  • They are the geospatial science community of the Consultative Group for International Agriculture Research (CGIAR).

NASA Earth Science Data

  • Use the interactive Worldview tool to visualize data.
  • Worldview shows the Earth in Near Real Time, how it looked in  the past  few hours.
  • Worldview supports time-critical application areas such as wildfire management, air quality measurements, and weather forecasting (Retrieved from Nasa.gov).

ReliefWeb

  • Reference and thematic international maps concerning current and past humanitarian emergencies and natural disasters.
  • View geospatial information on heavy rain overrun areas, locations of landslides, and physical access constraints.

Global Forest Watch

  • Monitor how forests are changing over time and improve your knowledge of the effects of deforestation.

For additional GIS Data & Maps on the World visit our Map section on the Olin Library pages.

United States GIS Data & Maps

Department of the Interior

USGS Maps

  • View Maps produced by the largest scientific mapping agency in the Federal government.
  • Topographic Maps make up the core of the USGS Collection, the 7.5 minute series makes up the largest share of these maps.
  • The 7.5 minute collection contains material of historical maps all the way to the most current.

National Park Service Maps

  • Explore maps of over 400 National Park Service units (Retrieved from NPS Website).
  • The units represent physical properties either owned or administered by the National Park Service.

Bureau of Land Management Maps

  • View Federal and State owned areas.

Department of Agriculture

Forest Service Maps

  • Maps for Forest Visitors, National Forest Atlases, and Motor Vehicle use Maps.

Census of Agriculture Maps

  • View geospatial data about crops and plants, livestock and animals, and Economics for all States.

Soil Survey Maps

  • View soil information and maps for your area of interest.

Department of  Commerce 

U.S. Census Bureau Maps

  • The Census Bureaus Interactive maps are a great way to visualize demographic and socioeconomic data variables.

National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration(NOAA) Charts

  • Map Coverage of the waters produced by NOAA's Coast Survey.
  • Information provided includes coastal information, water depths, and  navigation hazards.
  • The Office of Coast Survey also has a historical collection of nautical charts.

Department of Homeland Security

FEMA flood maps

  • Provide information on property flood hazards.

Other Federal Geospatial Information Sources

Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP)

  • Search for Maps and Geospatial Data from print and electronic publications.
  • Publications are from the legislative, judicial, and executive branches of U.S. Government.
  • Users can look for geographic information through the Government Publishing Office catalog search tool. 

​Cartographic and Architectural Section from NARA

  • The National Archives and Records Administration is the official repository of the permanently valuable records made or accumulated by the U.S. Government (Retrieved from NARA Website).
  • Among the records in the Cartographic and Architectural Section are over 15 million maps, charts, aerial photographs, architectural drawings, patents, and ships plans.
  • The National Archives Collection is one of the world's largest accumulations of such documents (Retrieved from NARA Website).
  • Find out more about their Cartographic and Architectural Section from the National Archives webpages. 
  • Search all of the Catalogs Cartographic holdings.

 

Reference:
Government Information Essentials. United States, American Library Association, 2018

New York GIS Data & Maps

NYS GIS Clearinghouse  

  • View GIS Data Sets from State Agencies and Local governments for a particular area of interest.
  • Data sets may be  available from coverage on a national, state, county, as well as municipal level. 
  • Information may be available on Flood Zones, Zoning, Parcel Boundaries, Legislative and Election Districts, and other areas of interest.
  • Users are able to view who holds the particular data as well as who to contact to obtain it.
  • View the about page to learn more about the NY GIS Clearinghouse. 

CUGIR

New York State Department of Environmental Conservation

  • The NYDEC provides an interactive online map (DECinfo Locator Map) to view DEC documents, environmental data for a particular site, as well as outdoor recreation information.
  • More than 65 data layers are available to view information on, to learn more about the map and its features visit the DECinfo Locater page.
  • A few Examples of Environmental Quality Layers include Permits and Registrations given to Active Landfills, Hazardous Waste Treatment, Storage & Disposal Facilities, and Wastewater Facilities.
  • Outdoor Recreation Layers include geographic information for Campgrounds, Hiking Trails, Mountain Bike Trails, and Boat Launch Sites. 

For additional maps that specifically apply to New York State, City, Tompkins County, or other New York Cities refer to our selected links from Olin's website.