Digital Collection Resources
What's in the Digital Collection?.
1. Digital Images from the CUL Map Collection
The collection consists of digitally reproduced images of paper maps from Cornell University Library's Map Collection and is located at the Shared Shelf Commons. Included are maps from locations around the world, ranging in date from the nineteenth century to the present.
2. Aerial Photographs
An important part of our digital image resources is a number of New York State aerial photographs from the Cornell Institute for Resource Information Systems (IRIS) Aerial Photograph Collection. Counties represented include Cayuga, Cortland, Onondaga, Seneca, Tompkins, and Wayne. Photographs range in date from 1938 to 1991 (varies county to county).
3. Sanborn Maps Access Rights
View buildings, their exterior construction material, and the community they part of in over 12,000 U.S. towns. The maps were originally created by the Sanborn Fire Insurance Company. Because the Library provides access through a subscription to ProQuest, the digital maps are limited to only members of the Cornell community. Connect to the digital maps collection by first going through the Sanborn Cornell Library Catalog Record.
Note: While are digital collection will continue to grow, it currently still only represents a fraction of the hundreds of thousands of maps, atlases, and other forms of geospatial data that make up the physical Map Collection.
Map of Western Part of New York in 1811, Image from the CUL Map Collection
