Special and Rare Materials at the Music Library
The Music Library houses many special and rare materials, including modern facsimiles of music manuscripts in our Special Collections, first edition scores in our Rare Book Room (Music Locked Press), and more. Ask at the Reference Desk to use these materials. Here are just a few examples from the library catalog.
- Sinfonie no. 9, op. 125 byCall Number: ML96.5 .B41 op.125 2010 Folio Special CollectionsPublication Date: 2010facsimile of autograph manuscript; with commentary
- The rite of spring sketches, 1911-1913 byCall Number: ML96.5.S914 S12 + Special CollectionsPublication Date: 1969facsimile reproductions from the autographs
- Bologna Q15Call Number: ML96.4 .B64 2008 + Special CollectionsPublication Date: 2008facsimile reproduction of Bologna Q15
- Codex ChantillyCall Number: ML96.4 .M87 2008 Folio Special CollectionsPublication Date: 2008facsimile reproduction of the Chantilly Codex
- Codex Calixtinus de la Catedral de Santiago de CompostelaCall Number: BT685.5 .C64 1993 + Special CollectionsPublication Date: 1983facsimile reproduction of the Codex Calixtinus
- Il codice SquarcialupiCall Number: M2.8.A2 S7 1992 Folio Special CollectionsPublication Date: 1992facsimile reproduction of the Squarcialupi Codex
- Six sonates pour le clavecin, ou pianoforte avec l'accompagnoment [sic] d'un violon byCall Number: Music Library Locked Press (Reference Desk) M219 .M93 1781 parts +Publication Date: 1781first edition; engraved throughout
- Test pressing byCall Number: Music Library Locked Press (Reference Desk) LP 9505Publication Date: 1959signed by Maynard Ferguson
Rare and Manuscript Collections in Kroch Library
The Division of Rare and Manuscript Collections (RMC) in Kroch Library houses many special and rare materials, including sound recordings, musical scores, books, and more. See the RMC Music page for more information. Highlights include:
Digital Collections at Cornell University Library
The Digital Collections at Cornell University Library include digitized versions of many special and rare materials, including sound recordings, music event flyers, and more. See the Digital Collections website to search and browse the collections. Highlights include: