General Reference
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
Searchable full-text e-book versions of many reference works. Subject categories include arts, biography, business, education, environment, history, law, literature, medicine, multicultural studies, nation and world, religion, science, and social sciences.
Guides to further research
On Witches
Encyclopedia of Witchcraft by Call Number: Olin Reference (Non-Circulating) BF1566 .E56 2006 v.1-4ISBN: 1576072436Publication Date: 2006-01-30The definitive compilation on witchcraft and witch hunting in the early modern era exploring significant people, places, beliefs, and events.
Historical Dictionary of Witchcraft by Call Number: Olin Reference (Non-Circulating) BF1566 .B25 2003ISBN: 0810848600Publication Date: 2003-09-29This dictionary provides reliable information on magic and witchcraft for the entire span of western history, from classical antiquity to modern Wicca. Particular attention is paid to the history of witchcraft in Europe in the 16th and 17th centuries, the era of the great witch-hunts.
The Encyclopedia of Witches and Witchcraft by Call Number: Olin Reference (Non-Circulating) BF1566 .G85x 1999ISBN: 0816038481Publication Date: 1999-10-01
Recommended resources
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Folktales and Fairy Tales by Call Number: Olin Reference GR74 .G73 2008 +ISBN: 9780313334412Publication Date: 2007
The Oxford Companion to Fairy Tales by Call Number: Online and Olin Reference (Non-Circulating) PN3437 .O94x 2000ISBN: 0198605099Publication Date: 2003Encyclopedia of Folklore and Literature by
Call Number: Olin PN41 .E48x 1998 +ISBN: 1576070034Publication Date: 1998-09-02
The Ashgate Encyclopedia of Literary and Cinematic Monsters by Call Number: Online and Olin Library Reference (Non-Circulating) PN56.M55 W45 2013ISBN: 1409425622Publication Date: 2014-01-08
The Ashgate Research Companion to Monsters and the Monstrous by Call Number: Fine Arts GR825 .M57 2011ISBN: 9781409407546Publication Date: 2012-02-01
Encyclopedia of Monsters by Call Number: Olin P96.M6 R87 1989ISBN: 0816018243Publication Date: c1989
Folklore: an encyclopedia of beliefs, customs, tales, music, and art by Call Number: Olin Library Reference (Non-Circulating) GR35 .F63x 1997ISBN: 087436986XPublication Date: 1997Focuses on folklore forms and methods from a cross-cultural, theoretical perspective.
Medieval folklore an encyclopedia of myths, legends, tales, beliefs, and customs by Call Number: Online and Olin Reference GR35 .M43x 2000 +ISBN: 1576071219Publication Date: 2000-06-23An A-Z guide to the mundane and supernatural lore of the Middle Ages.
The Penguin Dictionary of Symbols by Call Number: Olin Reference GR 931 .C4413 1996ISBN: 0140512543Publication Date: 1996
Encyclopedia of children and childhood in history and society [electronic resource] by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 0028659155
Les monstres : histoire encyclopédique des phénomènes humains by Call Number: Uris +QM691 .M74 2007ISBN: 2749108047
Fabulous creatures, mythical monsters, and animal power symbols by Call Number: Mann: Ellis BL325.A6 E27 2008ISBN: 0275994252
Mythical and fabulous creatures : a source book and research guide by Call Number: Olin & Annex GR825 .M99ISBN: 0313243387
The Encyclopedia of Celtic Myth and Legend by Call Number: Olin Library BL900 .E53 2004ISBN: 1592283020Publication Date: 2004-03-01
Monsters
Paris. Notre Dame Cathedral Tower. Chimeras and Man
Collection: A. D. White Architectural Photographs, Cornell University Library
The Monster Map
All-world monster map omnis mundus tabula geographica monstrorum by Call Number: Olin Library Maps (Non-Circulating) G3201.E627 1999 B5ISBN: 1929687036Publication Date: 1999Shows geographic origins of well-known monsters.
"Monsters"
Chapter on Monsters from Horror: A Very Short Introduction, by Darryl Jones (Vampires, Zombies)
Witchcraft: a very short introduction by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9780191777158Publication Date: 2010
Vampires & Zombies
The Vampire Encyclopedia by
Call Number: Olin Library GR830.V3 B94 1993ISBN: 0517587602Publication Date: 1993-06-27
The Zombie Movie Encyclopedia by Call Number: Olin Library PN1995.9.Z63 D46x 2001ISBN: 0786408596Publication Date: 2000-12-01Peter Dendle is assistant professor of English at Pennsylvania State University, Mont Alto.
Cryptozoology A to Z by Call Number: Mann Library QL88.3 .C65x 1999ISBN: 0684856026Publication Date: 1999-08-05The ultimate quest for the world's most mysterious creatures The Loch Ness Monster, Bigfoot, the Abominable Snowman -- these are the names of the elusive beasts that have caught the eye and captured the imaginations of people around the world for centuries....Cryptozoology A to Z is the most complete reference ever of the newest zoological science.
