MEARCSTAPA
You might find inspiration on the MEARCSTAPA site, which stands for “monsters: the experimental association for the research of cryptozoology through scholarly theory and practical application.”
Literature Databases
There are several databases devoted exclusively to literature. You can browse the list of others in the Linguistics, Language, and Literature section of the Databases search. Here are the top two:
- Gale Literature Resource CenterA literature database combining biographical, bibliographical, and contextual information on authors and their works (fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, and journalism). Draws from Gale Group's core literary databases including Contemporary authors, Dictionary of literary biography, and Contemporary literary criticism. Provides additional search capability for Merriam-Webster's Encyclopedia of literature and Gale literary index.
- ProQuest One LiteratureFormer name: Literature Online. Offers a full-text collection of poetry, drama, and prose with complementary references sources as well as articles, monographs and dissertations from the Annual bibliography of English language and literature (ABELL); full-text articles from literary journals; and biographical information on widely studied authors.
Searching Articles and Databases
Select and search appropriate databases to discover useful articles
Strategy 1: Cast a broad net -- Search a number of article citation sources all at once by using the "Articles and Full Text" search on the library website.
Strategy 2: Be more focused by searching individual databases. Databases are browsable by title and by subject area.
For more precise searching, search databases individually
Browse the list of specialized indexes in the Linguistics, Language and Literature section of the Databases search.
Specialized databases
The MLA (Modern Language Association) International Bibliography The premier scholarly bibliography covering languages, literatures, folklore, film and linguistics from all over the world. Online coverage back to 1926. Includes books, articles in books, and journal articles. Does not index book reviews.
- Bibliography of Asian StudiesThis on-line version of the Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) contains over 750,000 records on all subjects (especially in the humanities and the social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present. Through the 1991 printed volume, the BAS included citations to Western-language periodical articles, monographs, chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, and Festschriften, etc. Monographs published since 1992, however, have not been added to the database, and users seeking such monographs are urged to consult other general resources and databases such as OCLC.
Merman
General Periodical Indexes
General Periodical Indexes
Academic Search Premier Provides indexing, abstracts (summaries) and some full-text covering general interest magazines and scholarly journals in the social sciences, humanities and sciences.
Proquest Research Library Indexes and abstracts over 1500 periodicals, covering general interest magazines and scholarly journals in the social sciences, humanities and sciences. The ProQuest Direct Web interface provides the full-text, in several formats, of many articles contained in the database.
Article Databases & Indexes
Full-text Collections
JSTOR: the scholarly journal archive. A full-text collection containing the back issues of hundreds of scholarly journals. Most of the articles are at least five years old. Since it is searching the full text, be sure to use the Advanced Search function to narrow down results as much as possible. It is not uncommon to get search results of many thousands of hits in JSTOR.
Project MUSE: A full-text collection of recently published articles in the social sciences and humanities. Covers recent issues of many journals that may not appear in JSTOR.