FREN 1108: FWS:Monstrous Forms: Wild Men and Wicked Women (Spring 2022): Rare Books

Witches’ Sabbath. From: Ulrich Molitor. De Lamiis et Phitonicis Mulieribus, 1493. Division of Rare and Manuscript Collections, Cornell University Library.

Do you enjoy studying in the Andrew Dickson White Library in Uris? Find out why it's called the Harry Potter Library & how it's connected to Cornell's Witchcraft Collection:

• Uris Library Historical Tour
• Andrew Dickson White as a Book Collector

Andrew Dickson White Library, ca. 1900

Source: University Archives. Division of Rare and Manuscript Collections, Cornell University Library

Thanks to our first president, Andrew Dickson White, Cornell holds one of the finest collections of rare books and manuscripts on the subject of witchcraft. You will have the opportunity to see highlights in person, but you can also research some of them online: Description of the Cornell Witchcraft Collection. Access is by title, through the catalog, or here: Digital Witchcraft Collection

The collection was featured in a recent exhibition, “The World Bewitch’d” which you can now peruse online.

Some of the images from the witchcraft and history of science collections can be found online in the Fantastic in Art and Fiction database.

Housed on the lowest level of Kroch Library, the Division of Rare and Manuscript Collections is open for research Monday-Friday 10:00am-4:30pm, BY APPOINTMENT. Please consult their web site for specific hours and for instructions on making research appointments. This is Cornell's largest collection of archival and rare book materials. While books are listed in the library catalog, archival collections are described at the collection (rather than at the item) level, and many have further details on collection contents and arrangement listed on finding guides. Notable collections are described here.

Researchers must register to use the Rare collections. To register: Fill out this online form, then bring a photo ID to the RMC Reference Desk when you come in to do your research.

Watch a brand new video on the Cornell Witchcraft Collection

Books on witchcraft from the 15th and 16th centuries housed in the Division of Rare and Manuscript Collections, Cornell University Library. Source: Cornell News Service.