Mann Library supports the instruction, research, and extension programs of Cornell University's College of Agriculture and Life Sciences and College of Human Ecology.
No matter where you are in the research process, we encourage you to ask for information consulting services. Email us your question or request a consultation. Reference librarians are here to assist.
What is my company's Industry?
What is my company's Industry?
Industries are typically defined by NAICS codes. NAICS codes are 6 digit numbers, where each digit indicates a slightly more specific industry.
33 = Manufacturing
327 = Nonmetallic Mineral Product Manufacturing
3272 = Flass and Glass Product Manufacturing
327211 = Flat Glass Manufacturing
These codes help you to identify competitors, and they can help you find resources that will tell you more about your company's industry.
These codes are used throughout most of the databases that you will be using for this assignment.
Watch this quick video on using and understanding NAICS codes.
Many companies will be part of multiple industries, and as a result will have several NAICS codes. Look at the main company profile page in Hoover's to get an idea of what your company's primary Industry (and primary NAICS code) is.
Getting Started with Entrepreneurship
If you're interested in learning more about the Entrepreneurship Landscape at Cornell, and would like to learn what is available and how to get connected, please have a look at the Entrepreneurship at Cornell Webpage.
Alternatively, librarians at the Hotel School have gathered a collection of links and made them available on their own Entrepreneurship research guide.
- Prendismo (Formerly E-Clips)Short videos from entrepreneurs that highlight their experiences in various aspects of management and company development.
Finding Business Plans
Step 1: Browse Business Plans using Gale Business Plan Handbooks
What: Gale Business Plans Handbooks provide actual business plans developed by small businesses throughout North America. New plans are published every year and the cost of production is updated. If you find an older plan, then you can add inflation to the cost figures.
How to use: Connect to Gale Business Plans Handbooks and search using keywords that broadly describe your business (e.g., restaurant, cafe, car wash, gallery, music, movies, etc). You cannot be too specific because if your idea is truly original, you are not going to find an exact business plan for your idea; if you do find an exact match, then your idea is not original.
- Electronic access:Gale Business Plans Handbooks
Note: Sometimes the financials sections in the electronic plans are not very legible. In that event, print version of Business Plans Handbooks are available on campus.
- Print Handbooks (Mann Library): HD62.7 .B865 2009 volume in Mann Reference (non-circulating) on first floor
- Click Here to locate a list of other print business plan books (Note: some of these may have to be requested from other libraries using BorrowDirect or InterLibrary Loan)
Identify Geographic Target Markets and Demographics
- Use data.census.gov to understand the demographics for your geographic area.
- Simply Analytics, and Social Explorer are additional options for understanding regional demographics and market tendencies
- Use Mintel Academic database to locate national trends in the segment that you intend to serve.
- Also check out IBISWorld and BizMiner for relevant Industry information.