Garment Worker Organizing in Puerto Rico
The first ILGWU Local 600 representing over 3,000 workers in the corset and brassiere industry was formed in Puerto Rico in 1956.
Mentions of Puerto Rico in the ILGWU publication "Justice"
Archival Collections
#5780/168 ILGWU Research Department Records
This collection includes ILGWU publications in Spanish from Puerto Rico Locals from the 1970s in box 11 folder 19.
This collection includes correspondence with William D. Lopez, Robert Gladnick, Nelson A Rockefeller regarding the “We, Too, Fight Delinquency” advertisement from 1959, documentation on the Labor Advisory Committee on Puerto Rican Affairs from 1952-1957, correspondence regarding organizing activities and local matters for the Needle Workers Union of Puerto Rico, Local 300 with Rose Pesotta and Teresa Anglero, and Puerto Rico wage and hour hearings from 1955-1957, in box 30 folders 6-12, box 33 folders 15-16, and box 34 folder 6.
#5780-022 ILGWU Local 62 Correspondence
This collection includes correspondence between Puerto Rican ILGWU locals 89 and 600 from 1959-1962, as well as correspondence regarding members’ complaints to the Department of Labor Migration Division, and general correspondence from Puerto Rico in 1935, all in box 10 folder 3-4, box 11 folder 17, and box 4 folder 8.
#5780-079 ILGWU. Local 62. Managers' correspondence
This collection includes materials from the Puerto Rico Region ILGWU locations during the years 1968-1973 in box 1 folders 29-31.
#5780/083 ILGWU. Sol Chaikin Papers, [1940-1986]
This collection includes 1986 files regarding employer rights to reorganize, “country of origin” rules as applied to importations, and other legal matters, files regarding organizing in Puerto Rico during the 1970s-1980s such as employee reports and grievances, sweatshop conditions, benefits eligibility, and letters from Sol “Chick” Chaikin, information on Locals 600-601, and more on Puerto Rico organizations during the 1970s-1980s in box 2 folder 17, boxes 7-8, box 13 folder 29, and box 38 folder 26-28.
#5780/203 ILGWU. Jay Mazur Papers,1951-1995, [bulk 1983-1995.]
This collection includes IGWU financial statements, statements supporting income tax exemption reforms, statement and correspondence from President of the ACTWU Jack Sheinkman, memo to Jay Mazur regarding “critical situation” of apparel industry in Puerto Rico due to firms moving to the Dominican Republic, documentation regarding a decision to dismiss sexual harassment and sex discrimination charges, memo regarding organizing efforts at Barranquitas Knitting Mills, and an organizing report to General Executive Board Special Organizing Committee from 1993 in box 3 folders 18-19. In box 4 folders 1-2, there is correspondence regarding demands of Local 600 ILGWU, settlement agreements, a report on a trip to the Dominican Republic, a memo to Mazur regarding apparel companies under contract in Puerto Rico and the mainland, and a decision by appeals court that upheld dismissal of a lawsuit against the union from 1990, as well as a speech by Mazur and Jose Torres. Box 13 folder 15 includes the agenda of the FITIVC Executive Committee meeting and an outline of the welcoming address by Mazur with handwritten notes. Box 18 folder 3 includes convention publications from the National Congress for Puerto Rican Rights in 1987. Box 36 folders 30-31 includes documentation regarding the Puerto Rico Congress of New Jersey and Puerto Rico Housing Dedication, including speech and remarks by Mazur for each.
#5780 PUBS ILGWU. Publications
This collection includes Puerto Rican Local publications.