Archival Collections
#5929 Local 1199 Bread and Roses Cultural Records
The #5929 Local 1199 Bread and Roses Cultural Records collection includes 1969 editorials, features, and clippings from Charleston, SC in box 1, and in box 2 folder 7.
#5525 Local 1199 Additional Files
This collection includes dues information and other documents from 1199B in Charleston, SC from 1969-1972, as well as from Columbia, SC from 1970-1972 in box 75 folders 1-5 and box 87 folder 24.
#5206-pr Local 1199 President Leon Davis Records
This collection includes correspondence pertaining to Charleston Hospital Strikes, handwritten notes by Julia Davis, Local 1199 financial reports, Leon Davis correspondence, a letter to the UAW (United Automobile Workers), as well as George Meany correspondence and documentation regarding Walter Reuther and a disagreement pertaining to the labor movement, all in box 2 folder 1. This collection also includes correspondence between Davis and organizers of 1199B and financial statements and a list of things to be done in Charleston, in box 18 folder 1.
#5933 Local 1199 Drug and Hospital Union News files
This collection includes documents regarding the Charleston Strike of 1969 in box 1 folder 7.
#6140 Local 1199 Bread and Roses Cultural Project
This collection includes documents regarding the Charleston Hospital Strike in 1969 in box 3 folder 24.
#5680 OH Local 1199 Oral History Project
This collection includes the unedited oral history interviews of the National Union of Hospital and Health Care Employee, as they discuss the evolution of the Retail, Wholesale and Department Store Union drugstore local (known as Local 1199 and District 1199), representing pharmacists and drug clerks in New York City, into an international union of professional and non-professional workers in voluntary and non-profit health institutions, including hospitals, clinics and nursing homes, as well as drug stores.
#5206-x Local 1199 Clippings and News Releases
This collection includes Local 1199 news clippings and press releases from 1962, 1963, 1965, 1967, and 1970 in box 2.
#6169 Local 1199 Bread and Roses Cultural Files
This collection includes files on the Charleston Strike of 1969 in box 6 folder 6.
More can be searched here:
https://rare.library.cornell.edu/finding-aids-for-archival-and-manuscript-collections/
Documentaries
I Am Somebody Documentary on the Charleston Strike
In 1969, 400 poorly paid black women -- hospital workers in Charleston, South Carolina -- went on strike to demand union recognition and a wage increase, only to find themselves in a confrontation with the National Guard and the state government.
Supported by such notables as Andrew Young, Charles Abernathy, and Coretta Scott King, the women nonetheless conducted a strike under the guidance of District 1199, the New York based union, and the Southern Christian Leadership Conference.
A testament to the courage of these women who would not be humbled, the now classic I AM SOMEBODY is both an inspiring film and an important historical record.
Icarus Films is proud to re-release this landmark civil rights documentary from a new digibeta videomaster that has been digitally restored with enhanced audio and video.