Comparative Literature: A Guide to Library Resources: Literary Terms and Concepts

First published fifty years ago, A GLOSSARY OF LITERARY TERMS remains an essential text for all serious students of literature. Now fully updated to reflect the latest scholarship on recent and rapidly evolving critical theories, the 11th edition contains a complete glossary of essential literary terms presented as a series of engaging essays that explore the terms, place them in context, and suggest related entries and additional reading.

Provides new, reconsidered definitions of more than 500 terms mindful of the "changing inflections surrounding their use in contemporary critical discourse." (intro) Ranges from the practical and specific (ottava rima, metyonymy) to the historical and conceptual (Russian formalism, interpretive communities). Indexed.

Contains 36 essays by noted scholars designed to introduce the modes and ideas of contemporary literary and cultural theory. Arranged by topic, the book groups its chapters into seven sections: I. Literary Form: Narrative and Poetry; II. The Task of Reading; III. Literary Locations and Cultural Studies; IV. The Politics of Literature; V. Identities; VI. Bodies and Their Minds; and VII. Scientific Inflections.

A "single-volume guide to the history and development of criticism in the humanities as the twenty-first century opens. While emphasizing the theory and practice of literary and cultural criticism, it provides extensive coverage of related and contextual discourses, as well as critical overviews of the work and reception of major figures responsible, directly or indirectly, for the development of those discourses in the now-related areas of philosophy, poetics, politics, aesthetics, linguistics and psychoanalysis. (Foreword) Signed articles are grouped in three sections: Critical Discourse in Europe, Theories and Practice of Criticism in North America, and Criticism, Literary and Cultural Studies in England, Ireland, Scotland, and Wales. Includes bibliographies and glossary. Indexed.

Con sus aproximadamente mil quinientas entradas, el presente Diccionario de términos literarios proporciona una información rigurosa y actualizada sobre los conceptos fundamentales de las diferentes disciplinas que integran la denominada ciencia de la literatura. El abundante uso de ejemplos, así como su lenguaje preciso y accesible, y la indicación de la bibliografía pertinente en cada caso, hacen de esta obra una herramienta indispensable para el estyudio de cualquier materia relacionada con el ámbito de las letras. (Publisher)

Covers the range of critical theory, including the Frankfurt school, cultural materialism, cultural studies, gender studies, film studies, literary theory, hermeneutics, historical materialism, and socio-political critical theory. Includes biographies of important figures in the field and coverage of diaspora, race and postcolonial theory, and queer and sexuality studies.

This is the first dictionary of symbols to be based on literature, rather than 'universal' psychological archetypes or myths. It explains and illustrates the literary symbols that we all frequently encounter (such as swan, rose, moon, gold), and gives hundreds of cross-references and quotations. The dictionary concentrates on English literature, but its entries range widely from the Bible and classical authors to the twentieth century, taking in American and European literatures. For this new edition, Michael Ferber has included over twenty completely new entries (including bear, holly, sunflower and tower), and has added to many of the existing entries. 1999 ed. available online

This new edition expands on the previous edition to incorporate the most recent literary terminology. New material is particularly focused in areas such as gender studies and queer theory, postcolonial theory, post-structuralism, postmodernism, narrative theory, and cultural studies.

Formerly "The Longman Dictionary of Poetic Terms," this newly updated version contains over 1,600 entries on the devices, techniques, history, theory, and terminology of poetry from the Classical period to the present.

An A-Z of the critical terms and central figures related to the origins and evolution of postmodernist theory and culture.

Arranged in three volumes covering Literary Theory from 1900 to 1966, Literary Theory from 1966 to the present, and Cultural Theory, this encyclopedia provides accessible entries on the important concepts, theorists and trends in post-1900 literary and cultural theory.

"This one-volume work covers...the elements, structure, principles and techniques of rhetoric in literature, communication and more specifically, public speaking. Major figures and rhetoric in non-Western cultures are covered as well." (Publisher) Includes synoptic outline of contents, bibliographies, index. Emphasis is on theoretical aspects of rhetoric.

A guide through the vibrant and changing debates in Literary and Cultural Studies. This third edition includes 17 entirely new entries and updates. New entries include: * Actor Network Theory * Anthropocene * Ecocriticism * Digital Humanities * Postcapitalism * World Literature

"Contemporary reference on literature and literary criticism in English, this handbook provides an alphabetical listing of important terms and facts in literature, linguistics, rhetoric, criticism, printing, bookselling, and information technology. Covers a wide range of terms, most centered in literature, but extending into other areas, such as film, radio, TV, printing, linguistics and literary theory, music, graphic arts, classical studies, etc.

A full-text searchable database of articles on individual critics and theorists, critical and theoretical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods. It also treats related persons and fields that have been shaped by or have themselves shaped literary theory and criticism. Each entry includes a selective primary and secondary bibliography

Illustrates the problems, the concepts, and the methodologies that arise when we discuss literary criticism. Around 180 full-length essays written by international experts discuss the theoretical categories and formal structures; the institutions that support the production, dissemination, interpretation, and valuation of literary texts; the identities of the real and textual persons who interact in the study of texts; and the systematic methodologies of literary interpretation and understanding.

Alphabetically arranged dictionary "of forms, devices, groups, movements, isms, aesthetics, rhetorical terms, and folklore" related to poetry. International scope.

A revised and updated version of the major reference work for poetry. Compiled by an entirely new team of editors, this first new edition in almost twenty years reflects recent changes in literary and cultural studies, providing up-to-date coverage and giving greater attention to the international aspects of poetry, all while preserving the best of the previous volumes. [publisher] 1993 edition also available online.

Exploring ideas from a diverse range of disciplines through a series of 11 critical essays and a dictionary of key names and terms, this book examines some of the most complex and fundamental theories in modern scholarship including: Marxism, Trauma, Theory, Ecocriticism, Psychoanalysis, Feminism, Posthumanism, Gender and Queer Theory, Structuralism, Narrative, Postcolonialism, Deconstruction, Postmodernism, etc.