Latin America and the Caribbean
DICTIONARIES, ENCYCLOPEDIAS, GUIDES AND HANDBOOKS
Encyclopedia of Latin American LiteratureCall Number: Olin Reference PQ 7081 .A1 E56x 1997 +Entries on writers, works, and topics relating to the literature of Latin America, including survey articles on individual countries. Each entry consists of a signed critical overview of the writer's literary work written by an expert in the field; a brief biographical sketch, a select list of the writer's works, a list of further reading, and in some cases, one or more essays on individual literary works.
Encyclopedia of Latin American and Caribbean Literature 1900-2003Call Number: Online and Olin Reference PQ7081.A1 E558 2004"More than 1,200 entries written by 190 contributors, covers Spanish America and Brazil, as well as the Dutch, French, and English Caribbean. Entries are brief, but do include a selective bibliography for further reading." (Guide to Reference, ALA)- Handbook of Latin American Literature byCall Number: Olin stacks PQ7081.A1 H23 1992Publication Date: Garland, 1992This is a collection of signed essays on the literary histories of various Latin American countries. A short annotated bibliography concludes each essay. Also includes sections on Hispanic literature in America, film and paraliterature. An index is included.
Literary Cultures of Latin America by Call Number: Olin Library Reference, PQ7081.A1 L525 2004 +Publication Date: Oxford UP, 2004"In topically arranged articles written by a team of international scholars, Literary Cultures of Latin America explores the shifting problems that have arisen across national borders, geographic regions, time periods, linguistic systems, and cultural traditions in literary history."
BIOGRAPHICAL SOURCES
- Diccionario de autores latinoamericanos byCall Number: Olin stacks PQ7081.3 .A37 2001Publication Date: A. Korn, c2001
Fifty Caribbean WritersCall Number: Olin stacks PR9205.A52 F46; also Africana ReferencePublication Date: Greenwood, 1986Includes biography, description of major works and themes, summary of critical reception, and an bibliography of works by and about each author.- Spanish American Authors: The Twentieth Century byCall Number: Olin Reference PQ7081.3 .F57x 1992Publication Date: Wilson, 1992This source includes more than 330 biographical sketches (many are autobiographical) of writers most exemplary of the literature of the countries of Spanish America. Arranged alphabetically by author, entries also include a bibliography of sources by and about the author.
Spanish American Women Writers by Call Number: Olin Library stacks PQ7081 S83 (also Uris Library stacks Z1609.L7 S6x 1990)Publication Date: Greenwood, 1990Containing contributions by more than fifty scholars, this volume consists of analytical and biographical studies of fifty of the most important women writers of Latin America from the seventeenth century to the present. Each essay provides biographical and career information, discusses the major themes, and surveys criticism, ending with a bibliography of works by the writer, works available in translation, and works about the writer.
LITERARY CRITICISM & BIBLIOGRAPHY
Bibliographical Guide to Spanish American Literature by Call Number: Library Annex Z1609.L7 R375Publication Date: Greenwood, 1988An annotated bibliography covering those authors and works receiving the greatest critical attention and publication since 1945. Divided into sections covering: Bibliography; Dictionaries; History and Criticism; Anthologies. Within each section there is a further division by countries and genres (poetry, prose fiction, drama). The anthology section is useful for locating works that may be difficult to as separately published volumes. An author index provides access to all sections.
Hoffman's Index to Poetry by Call Number: Olin Reference PN4323 .H71Publication Date: Scarecrow, 1985.An index to translations of non-English language poems found in U.S. anthologies. Indexed by title, author, and first line.
Caribbean Story Finder by Call Number: Olin Reference Z5984.37.C37 E47 2017Publication Date: McFarland, 2017One in a series of folklore reference guides by the author, this volume shares summaries of 438 tales--some in danger of disappearing--retold in English and Creole from West African, European, and slave indigenous cultures in 24 countries and territories. Tales are grouped in themed sections with a detailed subject index and extensive links to online sources.
SELECTED INTERNET RESOURCES
- Caribbean Literature"...a searchable collection of poetry and fiction produced in the region during the 19th and 20th centuries. Among the titles selected are numerous rare and hard-to-find works written in English, French, Spanish, Dutch, and various Creole languages. The published volumes, manuscripts, and archival materials targeted for inclusion in this collection are presented in their original languages." (publisher)
- HLAS onlineThe online Handbook of Latin American Studies is a searchable, annotated bibliography of scholarly works on Latin American social sciences and humanities.
- Hapi OnlineHAPI Online contains authoritative, worldwide information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region and Hispanics in the United States. From analyses of current political, economic, and social issues to unique coverage of Latin American arts and letters, HAPI Online contains complete bibliographic citations to articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works and other materials from 1970 to the present.
- Literature in Latin AmericaFrom the University of Texas at Austin. Collection of links to Latin American literature sites by region and country, links to journals and magazines in the field, and links to online newsgroups and mailing lists
- Mundo LatinoProvides links to largely Spanish-language literary resources around the world, from sites focusing on national literatures to libraries with major collections in Latin American literature.
.
