Strikes: Primary Sources

The Kheel Center specializes in the Twentieth Century, focusing on New York State industrial relations in the public and private sectors; unions in the garment industry, public schools, railroads, and hospitals; labor arbitration and mediation; labor education; labor legislation; and management theory. Their strike-related collections include union documents and ephemera, court documents, and newspaper clippings with strengths in ILGWU, railroad, and New York State strikes.

Consists of selected speeches by CBTU's president and co-founder William Lucy, workshop materials and resolutions from its annual conventions, copies of the CBTU Bulletin, and annual reports of its Executive Committee.

The AFL-CIO Archive consists of approximately 40 million documents and other archival material. Strike related materials include photographs, external communications, and internal correspondence relating to strike circumstances, conditions, and settlements.

Directory prepared by the Labor Archives Roundtable of the Society of American Archivists (SAA).

An internationally-known center for scholarly research on Labor and the Left. The primary focus is the complex relationship between trade unionism and progressive politics and how this evolved over time. Archival, print, photograph, film, and oral history collections describe the history of the labor movement and how it related to the broader struggle for economic, social, and political change.

The Reuther Library is the largest labor archives in North America and is home to the collections of numerous unions and labor-related organizations. Its collection strengths extend to the political and community life of urban and metropolitan Detroit, the civil rights movement in Michigan and nationally, and women's struggles in the workplace.

A guide to SLA collections relating to the 1972 Mead Wildcat Strike and Atlanta Transportation Strike of 1949.

American Periodicals includes two full text resources: American Periodicals Series Online (APS Online) and American Periodicals from the Center for Research Libraries. Both contain digitized images of American special interest and general magazines, labor and trade publications, scientific and literary journals, and photographic periodicals, as well as other historically significant titles, from the 19th century through the dawn of the 20th century.

A comprehensive collection of historic and current congressional information. Includes full text of congressional publications, hearings, finding aids, a bill tracking service, public laws and other research materials.

This database offers full-text and full-image articles for newspapers dating back to the 19th century. For most titles, the collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue, cover to cover, in downloadable PDF files. The database is an ongoing project.

A wide range of primary source collections documenting the American workers and labor unions in the 20th century, with a special emphasis on the interaction between workers and the U.S. federal government.

This digital collection offers unique and important documentation on the growth, transformation, successes and failures of one of the important American social movements of the nineteenth and twentieth centuries, the modern American labor movement. Four major national organizations are documented in substantial detail in this module: the Knights of Labor, AFL, CIO, and AFL-CIO.

Comprehensive index of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States 1890 through 1982.

This digital collection consists of two full series and one partial series from the Records of the United Garment Workers of America, which are held at Georgia State University Library: Series I: Time and Motion Studies; Series III: Office Files, 1899-1994—Meeting Minutes of the General Executive Board subseries; and, Series VIII: Index Card Files for plants and/or locals in.

The Scholar's Edition includes all features of the Basic Edition that have been published since March 2004. It currently includes 102 document projects and archives with more than 4,050 documents, and 145,000 pages of additional full-text documents, written by some 2,200 primary authors. It includes book, film and website reviews, notes from the archives, and teaching tools. Those subscribing to the Scholar's Edition can access the online version of Notable American Women or the database on Commissions on the Status of Women.

This collection consists of 544 modern prints made from original negatives held by The Bancroft Library. The negatives are part of the photograph archive of the San Francisco News-Call Bulletin newspaper photograph archive (BANC PIC 1959.010) and were taken by staff photographers of the newspaper.

Links to several sites.

A research-based collection of primary and secondary sources for the study of the deportation of over 1,000 striking miners from Bisbee on 12 July, 1917. Materials include I.W.W. publications, personal recollections, newspaper articles, court records, government reports, correspondence, and journal articles.

Includes United Farm Workers (UFW)/Cesar Chavez gallery,1968-1974.

The Bracero History Archive collects and makes available the oral histories and artifacts pertaining to the Bracero program, a guest worker initiative that spanned the years 1942-1964.

During the 1890s a series of labor disputes in the Coeur d'Alene area of Idaho culminated in union members dynamiting the mill at the Bunker Hill Mine. The Bunker Hill Labor History Collection is 463 letters of correspondence between the mangers and owners of the Bunker Hill Mine & Sullivan M. & C. Co.

The Community of Industrial Relations Librarians (formerly the Committee of Industrial Relations Librarians) is an international group of information professionals from academic, union, government, corporate, and nonprofit organizations in the field of industrial relations and human resource management who cooperate on projects, share resources and information, and learn from one another.

A project of the Kalmanovitz Initiative for Labor and the Working Poor at Georgetown University that aims to preserve the history of working people in Washington, D.C., and to make that history accessible to scholars, students, and the general public. The site contains documents relating to several strikes including a five month long city-wide strike.

This database, originally maintained by UC Berkeley's Institute for Research on Labor and Employment, serves as a directory for the complete text of union contracts. Most of these contracts were found on the public Web in a wide variety of file formats. **Please note that this collection is no longer active, and it has been moved to the University of California's eScholarship archive.

This collection documents labor's perspective of the 1916 Everett Massacre and its aftermath. A strike by the Everett Shingle Weavers Union, the IWW's subsequent involvement, and the response of mill owners set in motion the events that led to the massacre. This collection currently holds 39 articles from the Seattle Union Record as well as 49 other items including pamphlets, fliers, hand- and typewritten works, postcards and a photograph.

Primary source accounts: photographs, oral histories, videos, essays and historical documents from the United Farm Worker Delano Grape Strikers and the UFW Volunteers who worked with Cesar Chavez to build his farmworker movement.

An oral history of the Flint Sit-Down Strike of 1936-37.

The documents, reports, cartoons and photographs shown in this section are a selection taken from the General Strike Collection in the TUC Library Collections held at the London Metropolitan University.

This exhibit tells the story of the 1968 sanitation workers strike in Memphis, Tennessee.

The Kheel Center for Labor-Management Documentation & Archives is located in the Industrial and Labor Relations Library. Its purpose is the preservation of original source materials relevant to the history of American labor unions, management theory as it applies to labor and industrial relations, and the history of employees at the workplace. Contains Herrin Massacre Investigation Proceedings and a bibliography of Trade Union Publications, 1850-1941.

This site presents highlights from the ILGWU's rich history and archives, from the extensive and heavily used collection at the Kheel Center.

Labor photos available from the Kheel Center. Especially strong for needletrade workers.

This site offers one of the most comprehensive collections of bibliographies, documents, and links to other U.S. labor history sites available on the internet. It was developed by labor historian Rosemary Feurer for the Labor and Working Class History Association.

Contains images of strikes by several unions including the UAW, SEIU, AFSCME, Air Line Pilots Association, United Farm Workers, Industrial Workers of the World, CLUW, and the American Federation of Teachers. It also contains a collection of early 20th century strike photos.

This site brings together information about the history and ongoing influence of newspapers and periodicals published by unions, labor councils, and radical organizations in the Pacific Northwest.

Newspapers, bulletins, reports, transcripts of news broadcasts, and other sources on the British General Strike.

This presentation resulted from a collaborative campus-wide project in early 1999 at the University of Washington to commemorate the eightieth anniversary of the Seattle General Strike of 1919 and the 65th anniversary of the Maritime Strikes of 1934.

The Uprising of '34 is a documentary film, released in 1995, that tells the story of the General Textile Strike from the perspective of those who experienced it firsthand. During the film's production, over 300 hours of interviews were conducted with former mill workers, their children and grandchildren, labor organizers, mill owners, and others who experienced or were affected by the strikes. The recorded interviews are held in this collection.

The Labour History Virtual Library is maintained by the International Institute of Social History to assist historians and researchers. They have put together an extensive listing of scholarly and content-rich web sites from around the world.