Newspaper Indexes for East, Southeast, and South Asia: East Asia Newspaper Indexes

22 newspapers, the oldest is The Chinese Repository, Kuang-Chou (1832-1851); most recent is The China Critic, Shanghai (1939-1946).

CRL database of 292 newspapers from 20+ cities, searchable by date, city (via interactive map), title, or keyword search.
Newspapers date from 1911-1949.

Contains "academic and informative documents from core newspapers in China since 2000 and updated continuously. It has collected 631 China newspapers."

(Quan Guo Bao Kan Suo Yin) This database includes an index to 50 million entries from 50,000 "sorts of periodicals and newspapers" published in China since 1857. Choose a type of material via the check boxes, or choose from a scrolling list of titles, which includes database Chinese Full-Text Periodicals 1911-1949.

Shen Bao, known in English as Shanghai News, was a newspaper published from April 30, 1872 to May 27, 1949 in Shanghai, China. Founded by Ernest Major, a British businessman, Shen Bao was one of the first modern Chinese newspapers.

(Da cheng gu zhi dui) American Edition. 1943-1946.

(Ren min ri bao tu wen shu ju ku) Chinese-language newspaper accessible full-text online from May 1946 to current issues.

(Huan qiu shi bao) 1993--to present. Global Times is a daily newspaper produced under the auspices of the Chinese Communist Party, focusing on international relations and foreign affairs. To access, use the "click here" link on the web page.

"Each week, The Current Digest of the Chinese Press presents the reader with a digestible collection of Chinese press materials, all in English. Selected articles cover a wide variety of topics, such as politics, international relations, security, economics, business, public health, environment, education, culture and more. The Current Digest’s mission is to provide the reader with a comprehensive, broad picture of the news published in China, be it domestic, international or related to other states of the Asia Pacific region."

Includes 18 sources. Coverage varies per title; South China Morning Post goes back to 1993.

Covers 1902-1949. Various editions are available: Tianjin, Shanghai, Hankou, Hong Kong, Guilin, Chongqing, Chongqing Evening News. (use Google English translate)

In Japanese with English option.

English language option available.

In Japanese.

(Japan Times Archive) In English.

Covers The China Post (2013 to current); Taipei Times (2003-2010); Taiwan News (2013 to current).

Database covers 1898-1944. Daily newspaper in Japanese, with Chinese text 1905-1911. "It is an official newspaper published by the Government-General of Taiwan yet one of the indispensable resources to know the condition of Taiwan for these years."

Online Korean Newspapers including older newspapers

Full text database of Korean historical newspapers published from 1896-1963. In Korean

A full-text Korean newspaper article database containing the following four major newspapers: Tongda ilbo, Kyonghyang Sinmun, Maeil Kyongje Sinmun, and Han’gyore

Gale OneFile, 7/2009 - 12/2009; 2012-present

(Monthly English ed.; Los Angeles, Calif.) Covers 1990-2001

1920 to 2015. (1920-1989 = news headings only. Full text 1990-current)

1907-1945. Korean, Japanese or English language options.

BBC Selected Newspaper Articles (from 1997-2013) and Wire Services (1997-current) .