Newspaper Indexes for East, Southeast, and South Asia: General Asia (multi-country) Indexes

Go to the link for Articles & Full Text which is just beneath the Search box on the Library Catalog home page. Articles & Full text contains c. 1 million articles from scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, reports, book reviews, book chapters and more. International in scope.

[NewsBank] Includes 28 Asian countries. The number by each country is the number of sources covered, including the titles in "BBC Selected Newspaper Articles" for each country. Sources for each country consist of newspapers and wire services. Each source covers a different span of retrospective years.

via ABI/Inform, 7/30/2008 to present.

Use the Publications by Country menu to choose a country. Sources include newspapers, city and travel guides, geographic and other magazines. After you select a title, the "Calendar" tab above indicates the start date of coverage -- usually c. 90 days ago.

Newspaper archive collections from East Asia, South and Southeast Asia and other regions.

Use the Publication Search tab. Click on the "list all publications" link for an alphabetical list, or use the search box to type in the name of a country to get a list of the news sources. Click on a title to see years of coverage.

(One year subscription, Oct 2023-Oct 2024) "Search the most recent global news content, with archives that stretch back into the 1980s from over 2,500 news sources including newspapers, newswires, news journals, television and radio transcripts, blogs, podcasts, and digital-only websites in full-text format. Provides one of the largest collections of news from the U.S., Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. "

"Complete archive (1995-2013) of translated and English language news and information from the Foreign Broadcast Information Service, compiled from non-United States media sources. The material is obtained from non-U.S. open-source political speeches, television programs, radio broadcasts, newspaper articles, periodicals, and books." Choose Asia from the Regions section.

Covers 1931 to 2016. Good place to look for speeches. Can search by keyword or name, or use filters to choose from a list in Region, or from a list in Nation. (Example: Region includes Asian States; Nation includes ASEAN as well as individual nations).

"FBIS Daily Reports offer foreign views and perspectives on historical events from thousands of monitored broadcasts and publications. Translated into English from more than 50 languages, these comprehensive media reports from around the globe include news, interviews, speeches and editorial commentary." Covers 1941-1996, but individual sources may vary. 37 Asian countries included.