LibGuides: ILRGL 2050: Labor Relations: Industry research

Industry Information

Being aware of developments in your industry is crucial for management and for unions. Factors such as industry productivity, trade policies, and new technologies will undoubtedly determine the business practices for management and the concessions and demands that unions will make.

Gale Business: Insights
Extensive reference content from Gale's core business collection; easy-to-use company fundamentals and investment research reports; industry rankings, profiles, market share data, company histories, and more.

County Business Patterns
Annual series providing economic profile of counties, states, and the United States. Data include employment, payroll, and number of establishments by industry.

IBISWorld
IBISWorld provides industry research reports and profiles for over 700 United States industries as well as a wide range of industries in China. Business reports for five categories: industry market research, industry risk ratings, company research, global industry research, and economic and demographic data. Each report provides key statistics, market characteristics and segmentation, industry conditions, leading competitors, industry performance analysis and future outlook.

Industry Week
This publication's web site contains the latest news, archives from 1998, and a Research and Rankings feature. Some of the Industry Week surveys include: America's Best Plants, The World's 100 Best-Managed Companies, and the IW1000.

Mergent Intellect
Mergent Intellect is a highly flexible web-based application that features a deep collection of worldwide business information that enables companies to generate insightful business intelligence. Coupling Mergent's expertise in developing products for the reference marketplace with D&B's private company database, Mergent Intellect offers new and existing clients a unique opportunity to access private and public U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, the ability to access industry profiles and much more.
Orbis
Provides access to company information and financial data for more than 275 million companies worldwide. Users can screen for companies based on geography, financial performance, industry, deals, ownership structure, number of employees, year of incorporation, and other criteria. Orbis is an excellent source for private company information, especially in international markets.
Workspace
Workspace (from Refinitiv) is a financial research platform that provides company financials, market data, transaction data, and analyst reports (Aftermarket Research). Students, faculty, and staff will need to register for an account using a Cornell email address.

Productivity and Costs
This BLS survey provides a measure of output correlated to labor resources. Information for over 500 industries is available at this site. See also the related BLS survey, "Multifactor Productivity."
U.S. Census Economic Data and Information
See all the surveys and programs conducted by the U. S. Census Bureau that pertain to industries, companies, and business.