Primary Source Documents
- History Vault: Vietnam War and American Foreign Policy 1960-1975 This module [of Proquest's History vault d.b.] covers U.S. involvement in Vietnam from the Kennedy administration, through the escalation of the war during the Johnson administration, to the final resolution of the war at the Paris Peace Talks and the evacuation of U.S. troops in 1973. The collections also highlight the most important foreign policy issues facing the U.S. between 1960 and 1975. Key collections include National Security Files from the Kennedy, Johnson, Nixon, and Ford administrations, and records of the Military Assistance and Advisory Command, Vietnam (MACV)"
- Know Your Enemy - The Viet Cong1966 Department of the Defense pamphlet for the armed forces in Vietnam. (online; click on title)
- The Vietnam War (1956-1975)Part of "Defining Documents in American History" series. Covers Kennedy, Jonson & Nixon; original documents with summaries, analysis and impact.
The Bunker Papers: Reports to the President from Vietnam, 1967-1973 by
[3 vols in one] Ellsworth Bunker was the US Ambassador to Vietnam from 1967 to 197 The 96 reports "are by far the most detailed chronological accounting of events, particularly within the South Vietnamese governmental and political scene, that we are likely to get."
Call Number: DS557.4 .B86x 1990Publication Date: 1990 ([San Francisco] : Asia Foundation ; Berkeley : Institute of East Asian Studies, University of California)
The Vietnam War (The New York Times Twentieth Century in Review series) by
"...Through a compilation of more than 600 articles [including wire service reports] and 150 photos taken from the New York Times, [these volumes] trace the origins, the strategies, the successes, the failures, and the bitter legacy of this war for the United States, Vietnam and the world [1945-2000]
Call Number: DS557.4 .V57 2001 + (2 vols.)Publication Date: 2002 (Chicago : Fitzroy Dearborn Publisher)
Vietnam War: Primary Sources by
"Vietnam War: Primary Sources features excerpts from screenplays, literature, speeches and hearings representing pro and con viewpoints during and after the conflict." Includes eyewitness accounts.
Call Number: DS 557.4 H55x 2001Publication Date: 2001 (Detroit : U.X.L)
Landmark Speeches on the Vietnam War by
The fourteen key speeches collected in this volume, from Ho Chi Minh's "Declaration of the Independence of the Democratic Republic of Vietnam" in 1945 to John Kerry's "Testimony before the Senate Foreign Relations Committee" in 1971, These speeches also include: John F. Kennedy: "America's Stake in Vietnam," Michael J. Mansfield: "Interests and Policies in Southeast Asia," Lyndon B. Johnson: "Peace Without Conquest," Paul Potter: "Speech to the March on Washington," George Aiken: "Vietnam Analysis--Present and Future," Robert F. Kennedy: "On Viet Nam," Martin Luther King Jr.: "Beyond Vietnam," Gen. William C. Westmoreland: "Vietnam: The Situation Today," Walter Cronkite: "We Are Mired in Stalemate," Lyndon B. Johnson: "The President's Address to the Nation," Richard M. Nixon: "Address to the Nation," [two speeches].
Call Number: DS557.4 .L36 2010Publication Date: 2010 (College Station : Texas A&M University Press)
Vietnam Documents: American and Vietnamese Views of the War by
Fifty documents, from Vietnam's declaration of independence in 1945 to the Paris Peace Agreement in 1973. Includes CIA reports, US presidential addresses, anti-war leaflets, and statements by the Vietnamese government and NLF (National Liberation Front).
Call Number: DS557.4 .V55x 1992Publication Date: 1992 (Armonk, N.Y. : M.E. Sharpe)- Front Page Vietnam byCall Number: DS558 .F93 + (in Library Annex)Publication Date: 1979 (New York : Arno Press)New York Times front pages; introduction and selected headline pages from Feb. 8, 1950 to March 7,1979. Also copies of the Vietnam Agreement and Protocols: Cease-Fire, Clearing Sea Mines, Prisoners, Kissinger's News Briefing with Q&A's, President Nixon's Address, Le Duc Tho's Paris News Conference, excerpts of Pres. Nguyen Van Thieu's talk.
- Vietnam Front Pages byCall Number: Oversize DS558.2 .V65 +Publication Date: 1986 (New York : Hugh Lauter Levin Associates : Distributed by Macmillan)Front pages of Pacific Stars and Stripes, from the Indochina-Vietnam War, 1945 1975, arranged chronologically by the publication of the U.S. Armed Forces of the Pacific Command.
The Vietnam War : a History in Documents by
"[This book] tells the story of one of the most divisive episodes in modern American history through primary sources, ranging from government documents, news reports, speeches, popular songs to memoirs, writings by Vietnam veterans (including coauthor John Fitzgerald), and poetry by Vietnamese and Americans on matching themes. (Black and white photos and reproductions.) The book begins in the 19th century when Vietnam became a French colony..."
Call Number: DS 557.7 Y677x 2002 +Publication Date: 2002 (Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press)
Vietnam War: A Topical Exploration and Primary Source Collection by
(2 vols.online) This detailed two-volume set considers the Vietnam War, one of America's longest and bloodiest wars, from a topical perspective, addressing the main characters and key events of the war and supplying many relevant primary source documents. *
Publication Date: 2017 (Santa Barbara, California : ABC-CLIO, an imprint of ABC-CLIO, LLC)
My Lai: A Brief History with Documents by
The My Lai massacre occurred in 1968 when a company of American soldiers killed c.400 Vietnamese civilians in four hours with young girls and women raped and mutilated. The authors discuss the ramifications of the cover-up, which did not become public until 1969. The causes of the massacre and the outrage it caused are described, and the book includes 70 primary documents drawn mainly from testimony and reports from the government enquiry.
Call Number: DS557.8.M9 O576x 1998ISBN: 0312177674Publication Date: 1998 (Boston : Bedford Books)
The Vietnam War: An Encyclopedia of Quotations by
This is the story of the Vietnam War told through quotations in chronological sequence. All sides of the controversy are represented. Here are the voices of warriors, presidents, generals, government leaders, civilians, aid workers, pilots, infantrymen, nurses, historians, war correspondents, sociologists, POWs, peasants, draft dodgers, guerillas, and war resisters. They talk of firefights, ambushes in the jungle, bombing raids, coups, assassinations, suicides, demonstrations, atrocities, and teach-ins. Includes a chronology, biographical sketches, Medal of Honor winners, bibliography, nineteen photos, and an index.
Call Number: DS558 .L354 2005 +Publication Date: 2005 (Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press)
