Bibliographies and Dictionaries
The United States and the Vietnam War, 1954-1975: a Selected Bibliography of English-Language Sources by
Organized by topic: general reference; Southeast Asian countries; Vietnam; Vietnam and the U.S. Gov't.; the Vietnam War; the American Military Experience in the war; the Media War; Literature, Film, Music & Art; the Domestic Impact; the Consequences. Includes a chronology and "list of principle characters"
Call Number: REF Z 3226 P43 2008Publication Date: 2008 ( New York : Routledge)
Those Who Were There: Eyewitness Accounts of the War in Southeast Asia, 1956-1975 & Aftermath by Call Number: Z3228.V5 T52 (in Library Annex)Publication Date: 1984 (Paradise, CA : DustBooks,)(subtitle) "annotated bibliography of books, articles & topic-related magazines, covering writings both factual & imaginative."
The Vietnam War: Handbook of the Literature and Research by
James Olson and his contributors offer fascinating insights as they evaluate the significant literature, films, and TV programs, offering different perspectives on the historical background; strategy and conduct of the war; the perspectives of Americans, the Indochinese, women, minorities, and veterans; the impact of the war on the homefront; and major problems and issues in the aftermath of the war.
Call Number: REF DS558 .V58x 1993Publication Date: 1993 (Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press)
Vietnam War Slang by
"Vietnam War Slang" outlines the context behind the slang used by members of the United States Armed Forces during the Vietnam War. Troops facing and inflicting death display a high degree of linguistic creativity. [The book]... presents around 2000 entries, each one divided into sections giving parts of speech, definitions, glosses, the countries of origin, dates of earliest known citations, and citations [examples of use].
Call Number: PE 3727 S7 D37 2014 (located in Kroch Asia stacks, level B1)Publication Date: 2014 (Abingdon, Oxon ; New York, NY : Routledge)
Words of the Vietnam War by
Cu Chi, (body bag), Shit-hook (Chinook helicopter), dink (Vietnamese slang for a G.I.), slope (G.I. slang for a Vietnamese), hose (kill), boom-boom (what's done in a tapioca mill, or whorehouse), Mike-Juliet (marijuana), pogey bait, DO-28, C-2A, L Zed (Aussie for landing zone), rat-turds (oak leaf clusters), thousand yard stare, Samozaryadnyi karabin (Soviet rifle), guerre a outrance (French war to the end--the viewpoint of the North): these and the 10,000 others in this dictionary are the words of the Vietnam era. They were spoken by ground pounders in the boonies and by peaceniks on U.S. campuses, by hawks, doves, Victor Charlies and hoi chanhs, Chinese advisors and the Muong people of the Central Highlands. The period covered is primarily 1963-1975, but there are terms included from as early as 1945 and as late as 1987.
Call Number: REF PE 3727 S7 C59 (In Kroch Asia reading room)Publication Date: 1990 (Jefferson, N.C. : McFarland)
VIETNAM - the War Zone Dictionary in Their Own Words by
[This dictionary] is the first reference to combine the official terms formally adopted by the United States Department of Defense and its allies in NATO, SEATO, CENTO, and IADB with the unofficial slang, abbreviations, radio codes, pro-codes, hospital jargon, weapon abbreviations, acronyms, euphemisms, and commonly used foreign words and phrases used by the men and women who were there. With over 9,800 entries, this is the only source-defined reference to the linguistic complexity of the Vietnam War.
Call Number: PE3727.S7 L54 2016 + (on level 1 stacks)Publication Date: 2016 ( [United States] : Albedo Press, Inc.)
